Celebrating Women for the Real World



Way Back Fug!

Fug Thursday is brought to you by our Dallas area Weather Girl where we show you the fashion no’s to keep you in the fashion know.

Today’s Fug Thursday is a Way Back Fug (sorry TKW, I know I didn’t get permission).  You know how all the prints on clothing are so 70s?  How I have been there and done that and don’t want to go back?  Well my friends (yes you, the younger ones) this is why we cannot permit this fashion decade faux pas to resurrect itself.

Taken straight out of the JC Penny 1977 catalog:

Way Back Fug

Here’s how to get your a** kicked in elementary school.

Way Back Fug

Here’s how to get your a** kicked at the beach.

Way Back Fug

This “all purpose jumpsuit” is, according to the description, equally appropriate for playing golf or simply relaxing around the house. Personally, I can’t see wearing this unless you happen to be relaxing around your cell in D-block. Even then, the only reason you should put this thing on is because the warden made you, and as a one-piece, it’s slightly more effective as a deterrent against a**-rapery.

Way Back Fug

Dear Bob, I don’t believe that color exists in nature. There is NO excuse for wearing either of these ensembles unless you’re working as a body guard for the Lucky Charms leprechaun.

Way Back Fug

Also, judging by the sheer amount of matching his/hers outfits, I’m guessing that in 1977 it was considered pretty stylish for couples to dress alike. This couple look happy, don’t they? Seriously…no words!

So can you see my point now? 70s please go away. I can actually deal with the 80s hair but the 70s pleeeeeeeeeeeeese no!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Katie says:

    Oh.My.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 7 months ago
  2. * Moi says:

    There are no words. Except these ones I just typed.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 7 months ago
  3. * christie says:

    yikes

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 7 months ago
  4. * Lisa says:

    If you didn’t specify that these were from a 1977 catalog I would have sworn they are from this seasons fashion debacles. I swear I saw that yellow/green monstrosity at Macy’s.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 7 months ago
  5. * meritt says:

    I got this in an email yesterday! LOL. It’s from a 15minute break blog or something like that. The guy found it in the ceiling at his Dad’s house and posted them on his site.

    I SWEAR I saw this catalog back in the 70’s when it first came out. 🙂

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 7 months ago
  6. * anita says:

    my friend and i laughed so hard we almost peed! i used to have to wear those “garanimal” debacheries and my sister and I always matched (we are not twins)…oh how i LOVED my “slacks” with the little seam down the fronts and the matching jackets…all in polyester of course. and let me tell you…polyester in the 70’s was like wearing clothes made out of those green dish scrubber thingies!!!

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 7 months ago
  7. * Tammy says:

    That dude on the beach is NOT wearing a dress, is he?

    I would kick his ass for wearing that on a beach.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 7 months ago
  8. * Kami says:

    Oh my GAWD.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 7 months ago
  9. * Carrie says:

    Man, Tammy beat me to it – I was going to ask why that man at the beach was wearing a dress. 😛

    The all purpose jump suit. I still see old men wearing those today! Bwahahahahahahahaha

    Oh and the matching guy/girl stuff? You’d surely get a right proper beat down if you pulled that! 🙂

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 7 months ago
  10. * Sheila says:

    No words can explain my emotions… UGGHHHHH!

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 7 months ago


Leave a Reply

