Celebrating Women for the Real World



A Little Story and We are going to do it!

Nail In The Fence

There was once a little boy who had a bad temper. His father gave him a bag of nails and told him that every time he lost his temper, he must hammer a nail into the back of the fence. The first day the boy drove 37 nails into the fence. Over the next few weeks, as he learned to control his anger, the number of nails hammered daily gradually dwindled down.

He discovered it was easier to hold his temper than to drive those nails into the fence. Finally the day came when the boy didn’t lose his temper at all. He told his father about it and the father suggested that the boy now pull out one nail for each day that he was able to hold his temper. The days passed and the boy was finally able to tell his father that all the nails were gone.

The father took his son by the hand and led him to the fence  He said, “You have done well, my son, but look at the holes in the fence. The fence will never be the same. When you say things in anger, they leave a scar just like this one. You can put a knife into a man and draw it out. It won’t matter how many times you say your sorry, the wound is still there.” A verbal wound is as bad as a physical one.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Words are powerful; I don’t think anyone would disagree with this statement.  Not only are words powerful our thoughts are just as powerful.  I twisted her arm presented to Sheri the movement of A Complaint Free World.Org and she agreed to give it a try.  I figure we can keep each other honest and really try to make this change.  We plan to start this on Monday so wish us luck.  We will try and keep the sidebar up-to-date but don’t laugh if it stays at 0 for a while.  I tried to just be aware of my complaining and it is going to take some time just to get up to the starting point.  I stated earlier in the week that it may take me a year to get to my 21 days (and I wasn’t trying to be funny).

Complaint Free Bracelets (Packages of 5 bracelets)

I tried to convince my household to participate, but G2 laughed and said “no way”; Big G just simply stated that he “never complains” so it would be useless (r-i-g-h-t).

Wish us luck….we will need it!

The Challenge

Begin to wear the bracelet, on either wrist.When you catch yourself complaining, gossiping or criticizing (it’s ok, everyone does) move the bracelet to the other arm and begin again.If you hear someone else who is wearing a bracelet complain, you may point out their need to switch the bracelet to the other arm; BUT if you’re going to do this, you must move your bracelet first!

Stay with it. It may take many months but when you reach 21 days you will find that your entire life is happier, more loving and more enjoyable.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Moi says:

    A: First bitches!
    B: I hope you are living a peaceful, complaint free life soon.

    I may try that after the new year. What will I do with all that extra time, though? 😉

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 7 months ago
  2. * SuZan says:

    Bwahahahah…Moi you crack me up!

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 7 months ago
  3. * Sheri says:

    Let me just get something straight – gossiping? Um, is finding out “fact” gossiping? I mean, really, if someone tells me something and I listen but don’t reply, that doesn’t count, right? And then, it is my duty to pass on that information as long as I don’t add my opinion, right? Geez, this is going to be rough!

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 7 months ago
  4. * Tammy says:

    Great story. And so very true.

    I would complain about having to change the damn bracelet so very often. 🙂

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 7 months ago
  5. * Patti_Cake says:

    Best of luck!

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 7 months ago
  6. * Karen says:

    Well, at least the bracelet is purple!

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 7 months ago
  7. * tommiea says:

    I am a firm believer of not complaining….I can’t think of a single time complaining will change the situation for the better….

    oh wait, maybe in a restrauant…but that is about it.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 7 months ago
  8. * Carrie says:

    hmm, good luck ladies! I’m with Tammy – I’d never make it to 21 from all the bitching about moving the bracelet around. 🙂

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 7 months ago
  9. * Kami says:

    Sheri, that’s not complaining.

    There is no way in HELL I’d make it. Maybe next year.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 7 months ago
  10. * Katy says:

    Uhm, for starters I do not gossip, I network. Good luck ladies. I will look for some good results.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 7 months ago
  11. * Missy says:

    That is a great challenge. I have seen these at work. Good luck. I know it would take me a long time to get to the 21 days.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 7 months ago
  12. * Kate says:

    i think I might just give this a try. For now I am going to enjoy watching you ladies!

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 7 months ago


Leave a Reply

