Celebrating Women for the Real World



A Somewhat Serious Post

Yes, serious.  I know, very unusual for this blog as both SuZan and I are “glass half full” type of people.  However, yesterday something happened that has just been bothering me.  Maybe if I get my thoughts on paper, I’ll either see it’s not that big of a deal, or, I will have at least organized my thoughts.  Plus, our readers are some of the most intelligent people around and, as always, I want to see what you all think.

I’ll set the scenario.  It was yesterday and I was at my son’s 8th grade football game.  Eighth grade – speaks volumes, no?  Keep reading, you’ll understand what I mean.  I arrived right before game time.  The stands were full.  I didn’t see anyone I knew so I sat in an empty spot in the stands where I saw some others in our school shirt and colors.  There were some rather “loud” and “outspoken” eighth grade girls representing our school and sitting at the top of the bleachers behind me.  They were saying some very trashy things that don’t bare repeating.  Suffice it to say that, had another parent not said something to them, I would have. 

As the game got underway I realized that there was a large group of parents whose children play on the other team sitting around the area where I was.  In fact, the parent who said something to the obnoxious group of girls was actually from the other school.  Still not a problem….until-the parent from the other team started saying very derogatory things about our players and the “people who go to this school”.  For instance, one of the boys on our team did something good.  I yelled “Way to go, Juan.”  In reference to our team Mr. Derogatory Man said “Hey Juan, my bushes need to be cut.  Come cut my bushes.”  When our team did something silly that had a negative effect to our team Mr. Man said, “Oh Juan, you need more beeeennnnsss.  You can’t miss those plays Juan.  Your going to be cutting grass forever if you miss those plays.”

Those of you who know me know that he had hit my final nerve.  I couldn’t keep my mouth shut anymore.  For those that don’t know me, let me explain.  I’m white.  My kids are considered Hispanic as that is their father’s origin.  Can you feel me?  Do you see why I could no longer hold my tongue?  I can handle a joke.  I can handle people thinking that they are somehow better than others because of their financial statement.  In my book, this was no longer a joke.  It wasn’t funny.  I almost cried because now, now I know what my kids have to put up with.  They come home all the time upset at the comments that are made to them or about them.  My children are not poor, they are not stupid, they are not dirty.  They are great kids, good students, who I hope will grow into adults that will contribute a great deal to society.  Mr. Man – he lives in the “rich neighborhood.”  That would be the neighborhood I moved from because I could no longer tolerate living with hypocrites.  Your income status, the color of your skin, the color of your hair – that means nothing to me.  I have raised my children to think “outside the box” and look at people for who they really are, not for what they have.

At this point I turned around, put my Coach purse on my arm holding it so that my 3 carrot wedding ring was flashing and my Rolex was noticeable.  I stood on the stands and smiled at Mr. Man and said in a very calm voice (a voice so calm it even surprised me), “My son goes to this school.  My son is Juan.  He will not ever cut your bushes as your bushes are not good enough for him to cut.  You see, Mr. Man, my oldest son was the starting Center for the football team at the high school, the school where your son will go.  He is in college and planning to have a very successful future.  My daughter, she’s a senior at that high school, in the top 1/3 of the class, involved in three clubs holding leadership positions in two, and has colleges asking HER to come to them.  Juan, he’s going to be headed in that same direction.  We own four cars – PAID for.  We have no credit card debt.  My husband owns two companies.  So no, Mr. Man, not everyone who goes to this school is low income and “stupid”.  But I would venture to say that the majority of our students have more class than you as they aren’t sitting here putting down YOUR children.

I smiled, sat down, and continues to cheer for the team.  Him – not so much.  He was very quiet for the rest of the game.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Kami says:

    You have got to be kidding me! GROWN ADULTS saying shit like that? ABOUT CHILDREN. AROUND CHILDREN. I am so glad you stood up for those kids and did what you did. And I’m glad you kept your composure, because I know the probability of me, and maybe you, being thrown out of there. Seriously. What an asshole.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  2. * Moi says:

    Good for you. I’m with Kami. I am pretty sure there would have been an “incident report” had I been there.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  3. * Tammy says:

    O
    M
    G.

    Well, I’m glad I wasn’t there. We all know it wouldn’t have ended so well. Bail would have been needed.

    What a pig.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  4. * Katie says:

    Good for you!

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  5. * Jill says:

    I am so proud of you!!!!!!!!!!! I would have said something but I would not have been eloquent like you. You WERE AWESOME!!!!!!!!! What you said said so so so much. What is even better is that the kids heard you say it.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  6. * traci says:

    Hallelujah! I am so proud of you! I realize that doesn’t mean too much coming from someone who doesn’t know you…but Wow. You were amazing! If I’d been there, I would have stood and applauded when you sat down…I’d like to say something tough like I’d have taken him on or whatever, but I’m quite sure I would have been watching you in awe. Good work Mom. Peace.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  7. * Patti_Cake says:

    Way to go!

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  8. * Carrie says:

    Wow! You are my hero! Good for you!!!!! Perhaps in the future that jackass will think twice before dropping his ignorant racial slurs! So in awe of you!!!!! 🙂

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  9. * Carrie says:

    Oh, and I never noticed you had all that bling, you better watch out this weekend. 🙂 Second you get tipsy, I’m snatching it! 🙂 hahahahahahahahahaha

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  10. * Missy says:

    Your response gave me chills. I LOVE it. I cannot believe some people. Seriously!

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  11. * tommiea says:

    Yeah for you….some people are just stupid!

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  12. * Karen says:

    Maybe that dolt will think before he speaks next time. Doubt it, he’s probably brain dead. Good on you, though.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  13. * SuZan says:

    ((((sniff, sniff))) I am so proud of you!!! Wish I could have been there, it would have been funny for me (blond hair/blue eyes) to translate it all into Spanish for the crowd.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  14. * Kate says:

    good for you I will have to post about my horrible experience today in a class!

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  15. * meritt says:

    I’m not sure why you need us to tell you ‘why’ that bothered you. Of course that would bother you – as it would anyone!

    Any time we have to have confrontation in our lives, it makes our face flush and heart beat. I know I’ve said/done similar things when the time called for it. Afterwards I swear I was shaking, but I didn’t let them see it. LOL.

    He probably thought he was just making jokes – and they would be accepted but it’s good you did what you did because now he knows better and I BET he will be more conscious of his words in the future too!

    It’s also been my observation that people in the stands talk before they think… it’s only AFTER they say something about a player they realize “oh… I’m surrounded by these players families!” LOL.

    Deep Breath.

    Smile.

    You did good.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  16. * Lisa says:

    Wow! I’m a lurker here but have to pop out to say “BRAVO!!!!” That’s very impressive. When I’m in situations like that I can never think of something so awesome to say until hours later! Nice job!

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  17. * Nancy says:

    Some people ya just gotta hit upside the head with a brick or three.

    Good job putting that guy in his place… which SHOULD have been UNDER the stadium seats, not on them.

    The jerk.

    :0)

    Not having a great week myself.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  18. * MilkMaid1979 says:

    Holy cow.

    You did good.

    REAL GOOD.

    ….cept…you shoulda bitch slapped that asshole. LOL

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  19. * Sheila says:

    OMG!!!

    You GO GIRL! Sounds like you ‘hit’ him right in the nads.

    Dammit that just pisses me right the slam off.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  20. Contrary to what the old saying tells us ignorance put on public display is never bliss for anyone. Proud of you babe.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 2 months ago


Leave a Reply

