Celebrating Women for the Real World



Well, College Kid Wrecked His Dad’s Car………..

and I couldn’t be prouder!  Oh, calm down.  I’m not happy that he was in an accident and I’m not happy that his dad’s car is most likely totaled.  I am VERY proud of how he handled himself during the whole situation. 

On Wednesday morning at 7:41 a.m. I got that call that you dread.  “Mom, I wrecked dad’s car.”  He has been driving for over a year.  No accidents, not even a fender-bender.  Son’s truck had to go to the shop for major work, so his dad let him borrow one of his cars.  Of course it would have been one of dad’s “favorite” cars.  A Toyota Camry.  Very reliable.  Let me ask you, would YOU want to be the one making the call to your dad telling him what happened?  Me neither.  Poor kid.

Short version of the story – four car pile up.  Three of the cars driven by students, the first car driven by a woman who did not know where she was going.  It was wet.  She stopped in the middle of the road.  Just stopped!  Car #2 slammed on his brakes, fish tailed, stopped, and didn’t hit her.  Car #3 slammed on breaks, hit car #2 pushing #2 into #1.  My son, car #4, had to slam on his breaks.  He had no choice but to rear end car #3.  If he would have swerved to the right, he would of been in the ditch.  If he would have swerved left, he would have been in on-coming traffic.  My son did not get a ticket.  Car #3 was the only driver ticketed (poor kid).  Although my son was relieved that his dad’s insurance most likely won’t be involved.  He felt bad for the kid in car #3.  This is going to sound crazy, but, as a mom, I was very proud to hear my son say that.  He is a very compassionate person. 

There you have it.  We survived the first wreck.  Hope it’s the last!  Oh, and I’ll try to get pictures tonight.  See, his dad and I….we don’t talk.  I’m pretty sure that sharing the same zip code is the only thing we have in common, other than the kids.  They towed the car back to Houston last night.  Son said his dad was very glad that he was OK.  After seeing the car, dad’s words were “wow, it looks like you hit a brick wall going 80 miles an hour.”  

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Patti_Cake says:

    VERY well handled! You have a right to be proud. Okay, no more wrecks or scary situatins for college kid!

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 1 month ago
  2. * Patti_Cake says:

    uh situatins should be situations… sorry

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 1 month ago
  3. * Moi says:

    very proud of college kid. so glad he is ok.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 1 month ago
  4. Thankfully he is all right.

    Um, no ticket for the dipshit lady in front?

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 1 month ago
  5. * meritt says:

    Wait… car THREE got the ticket? Because TWO cars in front of him were stopped and he had no choice? And why not the stupid lady that stopped in the street?

    I don’t understand. What am I missing here that SHE wasn’t the one ticketed – because I don’t think #3 should have gotten a ticket either!?

    Poor kid. 😦

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 1 month ago
  6. * Katie says:

    So glad College Kid is ok. Cars can be replaced, people can’t.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 1 month ago
  7. * Karen says:

    Good news he’s ok and so capable of handling the circumstances.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 1 month ago
  8. * Tammy says:

    That GOD he’s okay!

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 1 month ago
  9. * Carrie says:

    SO glad he’s okay and he did handle himself well! I’m with Meritt – I king of thint dipshit in #1 should have gotten in some ckind of trouble!

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 1 month ago
  10. * wendy says:

    Glad your boy is okay! I’ve had my share of wrecks and they are scary no matter how bad they are!

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 1 month ago
  11. * Nancy says:

    Yikes! I’m glad no one was hurt…but I, too, am wondering why the first driver didn’t get a ticket… for at least impeding the flow of traffic.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 1 month ago
  12. * Arlene says:

    Wow, that really is the call you DON’T want to get! I’m so glad he’s ok though, and it really does sound like he handled it the right way! What a good boy 😀

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 1 month ago
  13. * kate says:

    i am with them I can not believe car number 1 was not ticketed, totally her fault.

    I am so glad he is ok. That really is all that matters. The car not that big of a deal like I said last week cars can be replaced people can not!

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 1 month ago
  14. * Kami says:

    Glad he’s okay.

    I am still papering a house when I come to Houston.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 1 month ago


Leave a Reply

