Celebrating Women for the Real World



Tickle Tuesday

Yes, yes it is Tickle Tuesday……but I ain’t feelin it!  Got me?  I know I just had three days off.  Three days of basically doing nothing but laundry, grocery shopping, movie watching and laying on the heating pad.  Yes, the heating pad.  It seems that macho trainer dude at the gym really doesn’t think I’m as close to 40 as I am.  When I tell him “Ouch, that hurts!”, he tells me “Don’t be a baby!”  It seems that somehow I have pinched something.  It hurts.  Hurts to the point of needing vicodin a few nights to try to sleep. 

Thank Bob for friends like SuZan.  She brought food to my house, then tortured me I mean manipulated my joints or some such thing.  I could move.  Yes, hubs even benefited from the visit.  Doesn’t sound like much?  When you have been in severe pain for almost a week, the pain takes over.  I couldn’t turn my head.  I couldn’t get comfortable sleeping, laying, walking, sitting…..nothing!  Yesterday I felt great, but I either over did it or, like SuZan said, it’s going to take a couple treatments to get me unpinched.  I’m going to see her tonight for more torture, er, treatment.  Pray for me.  Maybe I should bring cookies when I see her.  Yes, cookies it is!

Just before bed last night, my daughter said “Can you come upstairs, I need to talk to you.”  That’s never good.  All I can say right now is wow!  No, she’s not pregnant.  It wasn’t really about her directly.  I will save that post for another day as, I need to get my thoughts together, and, well, whenever teenagers are involved, I try to be very careful about what I post.  You’ll just have to check back for that one.  Loveyoumeanit!

I came to work today, hurting again, without anything really funny to post.  As my email was downloading, I noticed I had one from my sister who lives in New York.  I laughed out loud only because I can just picture what was going on.  My sister is a bit, well, dramatic!  I really just have to post from her email because to ad lib in any way just wouldn’t do it justice.  Enjoy and be glad that YOU don’t live in NY.  She was in Brazil for two weeks and, well, just read!

then–get back to nyc, finally, that sunday. notice that the apt smells kinda…funky. rationalize that it’s because i’ve been away for 2 weeks, and it’s been hot, etc. turn on the A/C and go to bed.

next day–the smell is worse. i blame the cat–he must have left a present somewhere!–and proceed to search the apt on my hands and knees with a flashlight. my search turns up nothing. i go to bed perplexed.

next day–the smell just about knocks me out of my apt when i get home from work. i am beyond perplexed. i figure it must be a busted sewer pipe somewhere…close…figuring that there’s nothing i can do about it if this is the case, i go to bed but at this point it’s getting hard to sleep with the stench…

next day–i walk into the lobby after work, and the smell has permeated the entire building!!!!!!! now i’m getting a bit out of sorts. what the heck could be causing such a horrific stench?

just then i see the super. i ask him what the #*$& is going on?

he tells me that he “thinks” the guy below me has died.

i flip out. i tell him i’m calling the police. he says nonoooo ooononononnoono don’t cal the police, don’t call the police!!!!!

i flip out even more. now i’m totally creeped out, and scared. what the ($*# is going on?

long story short–the guy evidently died while his wife was out of town. the reason they didn’t want me to call the police was that if the police would have come & broken down the door, the landlord would have been responsible for the cleanup.

the guy’s wife eventually came home that evening. there is no way i can describe to you the odor that filled the building when they finally opened the door to the apt.

and then–the real fun began. these people were always crazy, and the apt was always filthy–like garbage on the floor filthy–the whole time i’ve lived over them. several times in the past i’ve complained to the landlord about odors coming from their apt into mine. but nothing was ever done.

so, do you think the woman is about to clean up the mess from this?

and in fact, she doesn’t. my apt reeks for days. i call the super and the landlord and scream until my throat is raw. they tell me there’s nothing they can do, it’s up to the woman to clean, and besides they don’t plan on going in that apt any time soon. i tell them this is now a public health hazard, and they damn well DO need to clean the place up. so, they call the woman and scream at her. she proceeds to “clean” the place up by dragging all kinds of nasty stuff–including the filthy mattress on which the guy died and laid for the better part of a week==through the hallways and down the stairs and out to a dumpster on the street. (a stranger who saw her doing this, and got a whiff of the stuff, ended up calling the cops!!!!!) the tenants try to clean up the mess in the hallway by pouring bleach on it. the super yells at the tenants claiming that they are “ruining the marble” and that the landlord will take it out of their rents.

meanwhile, the landlord is telling us to “boil a pot of apples and cinnamon on the stove” to get rid of the odor….

so, i’m taking the landlord to court…and finding a new place to live….

See – life could definitely be worse!  Have a great day!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Carrie says:

    O.
    M.
    G.
    !
    !

    A guy died and they wouldn’t call the cops????

    Ho.lee.shit.

    That is just craziness. Definitely puts my crappy start to the day in better perspective.

    Sorry to hear about the owie! yes, Suzan is wonderful to have around!!!! Tell macho trainer guy to shove it next time he tries to push you too hard. Bad trainer! BAD!

    | Reply Posted 10 years ago
  2. * Patti_Cake says:

    I am reeling here from the guy died…. laid on the mattress for a freakin’ week. And the wife seems to blase’ about it! Your poor sister! She is surrounded by MADNESS!

    Hope the daughter and her friends are okay. Just a guess.

    | Reply Posted 10 years ago
  3. * Moi says:

    Ho. Lee. Cow.

    | Reply Posted 10 years ago
  4. * SuZan says:

    WOW….your sis always manages to get in these situations.

    | Reply Posted 10 years ago
  5. * traci says:

    OMFG! That is unbelievable! A week? PeeeeYeeewwww!!!

    Oh, and send Suzan this way…I am in pain and fakin’ it with a smile…ugh

    | Reply Posted 10 years ago


Leave a Reply

