Celebrating Women for the Real World



Friday Eve

Am I the only one that wakes up on Thursday and, instead of thinking Thursday, I’m thinking “Ah, tomorrow is Friday”?  Really, Thursday is like a laid back day compared to the other weekdays.  The best TV shows seem to come on Thursday night.  I don’t stress about getting to bed.  I don’t stress about what I’m going to wear the next day or what I’ll make for breakfast.  I’m sorry Thursday, I know you need your own identity and all, but really, you’re just so close to Friday that I now dub you Friday Eve.  You can go have a seat up there by Christmas Eve, New Year’s Eve, Birthday Eve (I know I’m not the only one who says that), Easter Eve, Mother’s Day Eve, etc.  Don’t worry Thursday, I really love you!

No, I’m not on anything.  Just in one of “those” moods.  Ask my kids.  They were singing some rap song about some shoes called Bape something.  I really wasn’t understanding them, I thought they said “Grapes Apes”.  I said, “Oh, I used to watch that when I was a little girl.”  Yeah.  Now I know I’m old.  When they were saying “Bape” I wasn’t understanding them so I spelled it, “You mean “B – A – P”?  My Daughter said, “Mom, the “E” is silent, but you still have to acknowledge it.  Poor “E”, it gets no respect.”  (Yes, my daughter and I have the same sense of humor).  So I said, “I know there is an “e” and I know it’s silent, that’s why I left it in my head!”

Please tell me you laughed at that.  We laughed for 10 minutes.  Milk spewing, mascara running laughter.  That was a great way to start the day!

Update on College Kid – He’s out of food!  Go figure!  One of his friends visited him from Sam Houston and stayed the weekend and apparently ate “All of their food”!  My response – “sucks being you.  You should charge room and board when he visits.”  He told me he was serious.  I told him that the emergency money my husband gave him – this may constitute an emergency cause I ain’t given out anymore money.  It’s called B-U-D-G-E-T! 

I will tell you that so far, the only time that I got somewhat teary eyed was on Monday, the first day of classes.  It was the first day of school for my other two as well.  I always get up and make them a really good, healthy breakfast on the first day.  I then sent a text message to College Kid that said, “Wake up.  Time for School.  Eat a good breakfast.  I love you.”  To which he replied, “Already up, ate, washed dishes and ready to leave for class.  I love you too.”  Yup.  That did it.

 Now, for those of you that endured this post of nothingness and continue to put up with my mommy talk about college kid, I’ll leave you with this thought.  This was in my fortune cookie last night.

“Hear with your ears, but listen with your heart.”

Have a great day!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Tammy says:

    Girl, you crack my shit up. I totally laughed at that!

    You forgot an important eve. Birthday eve! Very important day.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 11 months ago
  2. * Cheeky says:

    I loves me some Thursday – I really do……it really is the best night on TV

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 11 months ago
  3. * Moi says:

    Very nicely fortune. I now rest easy knowing that EVENTUALLY my kids will get their own butts out of bed, do the dishes, and get ready for school.

    Of course, they won’t be in the house when it happens, but at least it will happen.

    Oh … and I totally got the silent E joke. Almost spewed the c*oke (that would be the liquid kind, people) on the keyboard.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 11 months ago
  4. * Kami says:

    Great quote.

    I just cried cause my kid lost his first tooth. That is some gay shit right there.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 11 months ago
  5. * speck says:

    oh my that just about made me cry.

    and do you say “in bed” before you read your fortune cookies? we do….

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 11 months ago
  6. * Carrie says:

    Awww, what a sweet text… 🙂 Cracking up that he has quickly learned how fast one can go through things up at school. 🙂

    Love the silent E comment, hillarious!!!!

    Yes, I to think of Thursday as Thursday Eve! 🙂

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 11 months ago
  7. I’d have cried at his text.

    I am so fucking lame.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 11 months ago
  8. * Katie says:

    Thirsty Thursday!

    When you wrote grape ape, I immediately thought of the shot. That’s the kind of day it’s been.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 11 months ago
  9. * Patti_Cake says:

    Not a TV watcher but I love Thursday too cos’ next day is Friday! That is sweet about the text to your son.
    Be firm with him though, I sure tested my parents boundaries when I first went away to College. 🙂

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 10 months ago
  10. * meritt says:

    You DO realize I’m keeping notes on your life with a college student. 🙂 It won’t be long until it’s my turn… and I’m learning all I can from you!!!! LOL.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 10 months ago
  11. * Bapes says:

    Bape is a dying brand its too expensive for something that isnt really worth it, you might as well buy a fake, type in bape in google there are a lot of fake sites,

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 10 months ago


Leave a Reply

