Celebrating Women for the Real World



Pretend There’s Pictures, K?

So. Tired.

Yesterday was the big “move son up to college” day.  Let me think exactly of the words to explain the emotions.  Child birth.  Yup, child birth.  It’s like when you get pregnant with your first and your terrified of labor.  Then, at week 42 you’re like “I don’t care how much it hurts to get this kid out through my hoo ha, just get it out.”  Then after delivery you have your first time alone, just you and baby, and you say “Oh my Bob, what do I do now.”

Splains my emotions in a nut shell. 

I took a shit ton of pics, but I was so incredibly exhausted yesterday that the thought of finding the camera and downloading pictures was overwhelming. 

No, I didn’t cry as he loaded his stuff into the truck.  I didn’t cry when we were ready to drive out of the driveway (it was like 102 people.  Too darn hot).  I didn’t cry after when we gave our hugs and headed for home.  But, I also didn’t sleep last night cause every bob damn time I drifted off, I had dreams of what my son may be doing on his first night of independence. 

For your convenience I have bulleted a few things that have stuck in my mind regarding this adventure.  Enjoy!

  • It’s hot in Texas in August.  You won’t cry cause you’re too darn hot
  • College dorms/apartments are grody.  I’m not lying
  • My son is actually less dependent than some other kids I met yesterday
  • My son is very neat and organized – when he’s not at my house
  • My son will try to put a 30 pack of beer in the shopping cart when you’re not looking.
  • My son will try to put another 30 pack of beer in the cart when the first one is removed.  Gotta give the kid an “a” for effort!
  • My son gives lousy directions
  • There are a lot of cops on the route to College Station
  • My son lives on the 3rd floor.  He will work hard when his goal is to unload my car and send me on my way.
  • You can definitely differentiate between the college freshman and the upperclassman.
  • My kid thinks you can soak a George Foreman grill in a sink of water (let’s hope he does better with critical thinking in his accounting classes)

Now, I would like to post a PSA to all college dorms and apartment complexes.  It’s NOT a good idea to have signs posted all over the doors where the parents must walk in with their kids to get their room assignments to have half naked pictures of women drinking beer announcing the “Best Boob” contest/party to be held that evening.  Especially when the signs say “Freshman – come and learn what campus life is all about.”  This may throw some parents into a panic attack.  Just sayin!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. They did NOT have a sign up like that, did they? Please say no. Lord.

    He’s gonna be ok, mom. Y’all done good. 🙂

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 1 month ago
  2. * meritt says:

    How come reading this post makes ME almost want to cry????

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 1 month ago
  3. * Jill says:

    Ditto on the emotions. It has been 9 days since we moved both boys – son and stepson (different colleges) – it gets better! Expect to cry by the third day for no reason at all. By the 2nd day of class you’ll get a phone call – guess what they needed??? After that it has been a daily quest to get money for something else – request an email receipt!
    IT REALLY DOES GET BETTER – YOU START REALIZING THAT MAYBE JUST MAYBE THEY REALLY ARE GOING TO GO TO CLASS!

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 1 month ago
  4. * buffaloeagle says:

    what time is the “Best Boob” party? and is it free beer? maybe they need some adult supervision !

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 1 month ago
  5. * Kate says:

    he is going to be fine and so are you!

    Wow I can not even imagine all the emotions you felt!

    Way to go oldest son nice try with the 30 pack!

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 1 month ago
  6. * Carrie says:

    bwahahahahahaa about the best boob contest… and lol at big G!

    Try to look on the bright side – one less person to have to pick up after! 🙂

    I do recall my dad finally having to drag my mom out of my dorm – she kept finding all kinds of little odds and ends to fiddle with. 🙂 I was homesick in two days. 😛

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 1 month ago
  7. * SuZan says:

    WOW….I still can’t get over M in college. I still remember that snotty little nose boy I met when they all were Tiger scouts.

    sigh!

    sniff!

    gulp!

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 1 month ago
  8. * Tammy says:

    OMG. That. Is. Hysterical. I can’t believe they had that sign.

    Poor you. I’m so glad my oldest is only in 2nd grade. I can’t handle the whole leaving thing. But that’s ok. When he goes to college, I’ll have a dorm room next to him (disinfected, of course) because he’ll need someone to dress him and tie his shoes.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 1 month ago
  9. * Moi says:

    Too funny. You should have told him you were going to enter the best boobs contest. The look on his face … I’m picturing it now.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 1 month ago
  10. * Kami says:

    HOLY CRAP. I cannot believe I will be there one day. Have a rita.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 1 month ago
  11. * Lori says:

    Oh, man that sign – not good. I’m dreading the move next year.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 1 month ago
  12. I miss college! He is going to have so much fun! I can’t imagine the day I drop off my kid. I just keep telling myself that they make the teenage years so bad that you want them to leave. I look at my kid now and can’t imagine that. Or think about the things that he will do when he gets older. That makes my hair turn gray! I always love your posts. Gives me a glimpse into my future!

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 1 month ago


Leave a Reply

