Celebrating Women for the Real World



Today Is A New Day

And only I can determine what kind of day it will be.  It can be happy and bright or sad and grey………

I have this on my refrigerator.  There is more to it, but this is the line that sticks with me and that I repeat often.  It is so very true.  We are all faced with circumstances.  Some circumstances are self-imposed, others are beyond our control.  Long and short, we have to determine how we will handle each and every circumstance.

And I’m writing this because? I really don’t know.  I think this is sticking with me because yesterday three different people commented on how I’m always smiling and they enjoy visiting with me.  Two were work related, one was my trainer.  I have news for them – I’m not always smiling (SuZan and my hubs can attest to that).  When I’m not, look out.  But, I try to remember this saying.  Life is too short to be grumpy and down and frowning causes to many wrinkles!

I’m lucky however, I seem to be able to work myself out of a funk pretty easy.  My sister on the other hand can’t.  She suffered (and still does) from depression.  I never understood it.  I couldn’t figure out why she couldn’t just “get over it”, whatever “it” was.  Now I understand it and am sorry that I wasn’t more understanding of what she was going through.  But seeing her suffer first hand I believe has made me a more understanding person.  More sympathetic. 

Today I encourage everyone to be more patient with everyone you encounter.  Find some kind word to say to everyone you meet.  Give yourself a hug as well – you deserve it!

Dr. Phyllis signing off.  Now, go tell Kristine that she MUST bring back SPF.  Otherwise you may check this blog and find more mindless dribble. 

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Patti_Cake says:

    Sometimes it is even hard for the person suffering from depression as to why they can’t “snap out of it”. A positive out look is beautiful for everyone!

    | Reply Posted 10 years ago
  2. * celebratingwomen says:

    Wow. I like to use the word “understanding” a lot.

    | Reply Posted 10 years ago
  3. * Kami says:

    Thank you for this therapy.

    😉

    I’d rather have a hug from another hot-blooded person. Like JT.

    | Reply Posted 10 years ago
  4. * Cat says:

    what a great post today! It is so true! I needed it! THANKS!!!

    | Reply Posted 10 years ago
  5. Even though I was not diagnosed with depression, I do get what I call “the blues” that last sometimes a few weeks at a time, sometimes longer. However, I have so resisted seeking formal treatment for a few reasons that I won’t go into here.

    One thing I do think is that sometimes there are people who don’t try to really learn how to be stronger or learn from their mistakes and wallow in that place. That dark place that they just want to slap a drug on. Do some people truly need some sort of med to function? Absolutely. Do all of them? I really think no.

    I am not sure what I am trying to say here. Just that sometimes those trials that we think will buckle us….those times that we think we can not function anymore….those are the times when we have the chance to rise. To grow stronger. To realize just how much grit there is under our glossy exteriors. I wish more people saw that.

    | Reply Posted 10 years ago
  6. * Kelly says:

    I think you described me to a tee! I think we should meet someday! But seriously, I never understand depression, or people who are truly depressed. Sure, I’ve been depressed before, and took meds, but the circumstances surrounding it were the reason (i.e. Jenelle) Sometimes its not so easy being so optimistic.

    | Reply Posted 10 years ago
  7. * Kate says:

    I agree with that quote and you are for the most part an extremely happy person!

    I hope that people view me as happy! Cause I try to be happy!

    | Reply Posted 10 years ago
  8. * Carrie says:

    Well I suffer from depression, but have mangaged to learn to control it before it gets out of hand, and I too, am generally a happy person.

    I like that saying, sometimes it is truly the way in which we approach a situationt that determines what we take back from it. 🙂

    | Reply Posted 10 years ago
  9. * SuZan says:

    You nut! Now the only inspiration on my fridge is:

    “When the going gets tough; the tough go shopping”

    …words to live by….hehehe

    | Reply Posted 10 years ago
  10. * Karen says:

    On my fridge is the Mary Englebrecht saying, “We put the FUN back into dysfunctional!” Tells you about my family, huh!

    Everyone can use a bit of therapy on Friday. Nice post.

    | Reply Posted 10 years ago
  11. * sheri says:

    So I think I figured out why I posted this. First, my oldest called and yelled at me. I hung up. He called and yelled again. I hung up. He called and asked why I hung up. I told him cause he was yelling. We finally made progress.

    My youngest son didn’t get his way at Hollywood Video and walked out. I didn’t rent him a game after that. He’s still pouting.

    My daughter – well, she and I are understanding each other today.

    My hubs. Oh, I am SO not going there.

    Okay, what were my words. Only I can determine what kind of day it can be. Yup, so far I’ve determined it to be crappy!

    | Reply Posted 10 years ago
  12. * Arlene says:

    I like that saying a lot!
    I, myself, suffer from bipolar, which is fine, as long as I take my meds each and every damn day!
    But I do still have to remind myself to smile every day!

    | Reply Posted 10 years ago
  13. * Katie says:

    At the pizza shack we have these different philosophies, I think one of them is “You choose your attitude”.

    | Reply Posted 10 years ago
  14. That’s a great quote. I like it a lot. All I have on my fridge is pizza coupons. Hmmm….Maybe that is my problem 🙂

    | Reply Posted 10 years ago
  15. * traci says:

    The magnet on my fridge says “I’d slap you but sh*t splatters!” Now, what do you think that says about MY family!

    | Reply Posted 10 years ago
  16. * traci says:

    Ok, honestly, that magnet is my husband’s. He saw it somewhere, commented on it and the clerk gave it to him! I wonder what that says about him? heh

    | Reply Posted 10 years ago


Leave a Reply

