Celebrating Women for the Real World



20/20…I Feel a Little Ditty Coming On!

musicnotes223
I can see clearly now the rain is gone
I can see all obstacles in my way
Gone are the dark clouds that had me blind
It’s gonna be a bright (bright) bright (bright) sunshinin’ day
It’s gonna be a bright (bright) bright (bright) sunshinin’ day

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 It’s done!  It is so very cool not having to wear glasses.  I cannot tell the excitement of all of this.  Of course you-know-who was freaking out before the surgery and HAD to have a happy pill!  Yes that would be me, the big baby.  The problem is that I was not prepared to hurry and get there and wait.  Yes, we were there for around 4 hours and the procedure only takes about 10 minutes.  So here are the things I learned during my big day and the follow up:

  1. I am not as brave as I think I am when it comes to my eyes.
  2. When your hubs makes a comment that your doing a lot better since you got your happy pill, everyone in the room wants a happy pill too.
  3. When you pull out your camera phone to take a picture of hubs because he is making fun of how we all look, everyone in the room takes our theirs and starts taking pictures too.
  4. Hubs did great during the surgery but when they fold the flap back on your eye, he wants to up-chuck.
  5. After the procedure your eyes feel violated!
  6. When we got home and I walked through the courtyard to go in the house, after I saw all the plants and the vibrant colors of the flowers…..I cried.
  7. Sleeping on your back with lovely goggles sucks.
  8. When you wake up in the morning your eyes are crusted shut (and you cannot rub your eyes for six months).
  9. Sheri is the most awesome person to go with for your followup visit.  She really knows how to make it a special event.  We lounged afterwards at Starbucks and went shopping at Bombay (so much fun).
  10. I have the best hubs and friend that take care of a girl and make her feel so loved.  Thanks guys, y’all are the best!

Now for your viewing pleasure here are pictures of both hubs and me pre-op when we were disrupting the room:

PreOp

PreOp

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Kate says:

    I am so glad you can see clearly now.
    That is awesome!

    I love the pre-op gear on you and the hubs!

    i so know you guys are hanging out in your house wearing your pre-op gear!

    | Reply Posted 10 years ago
  2. * Katie says:

    Congrats, it must feel so awesome to no longer need glasses.

    | Reply Posted 10 years ago
  3. That’s fickin’ awesome.

    I am so jealous!!! Congrats!

    | Reply Posted 10 years ago
  4. That’s so awesome! Glad it went well!

    | Reply Posted 10 years ago
  5. * sheri says:

    One day I may be brave enough! Of course, it’s going to take me a lot more than 1 happy pill. You had me ready to sign up until you said something about the lifting of the flap……Not so much!

    Glad it went well. That’s freakin awesome that you can read signs now with no glasses and I’m squinting with glasses!

    | Reply Posted 10 years ago
  6. How did I miss the booties? He has on booties. I love it.

    | Reply Posted 10 years ago
  7. * meritt says:

    I think the best part of this post (for me) was reading the line about seeing the flowers and the colors and crying.

    Beautiful. Congrats and happy healing!!!

    | Reply Posted 10 years ago
  8. * Tammy says:

    Everybody in that room are copy cats. They wanna be like the cool kids!

    I love that you now have Hi-Def eyes!

    | Reply Posted 10 years ago
  9. * tommiea says:

    how exciting…..another one who liked that you can see the flowers and their colors!

    | Reply Posted 10 years ago
  10. * Arlene says:

    Awwww, I’m so glad it went well!! My roommate had it, and she said the sleeping part was the worst part of the whole ordeal, but she’s a couple years in now and lovin’ every second of it!
    Good for you for being so brave!!

    | Reply Posted 10 years ago
  11. * Missy says:

    That is just plain awesome!!!!! Now time to shop for cool sunglasses.

    | Reply Posted 10 years ago
  12. * Carrie says:

    YAY!

    YAY!

    YAY!

    Good girl for taking the photo op to showcase your lovely Coach bag. 😉

    The hubs is totally rocking the booties – you could blackmail him if you needed to by saying you would show the scouts that picture… just sayin’. 🙂

    YAY again for Hi-Def eyes! 🙂

    | Reply Posted 10 years ago


Leave a Reply

