Celebrating Women for the Real World



Now You CAN’T Say I’m All Fart and No Shit!

OK, I had to work this phrase into a post somehow.  Right Carrie & SuZan.  Yup! 

So why am I the shit?  Not only did I upload pictures to Flicker, I remembered to take some dag gum pictures in the first place.  What?  Of what did I take pictures?  Oh, I took pictures of my home made dinner.  As in from scratch!  As in, Schwan’s was NOT invited to this meal!  As in I had to “scald the milk and add it to the flower butter mixture”!

Tomorrow’s Father’s Day.  We are conserving money because we spent a shit ton of it the last couple weeks between Prom, Graduation, My Birthday, Son’s Birthday, etc.  We don’t do credit cards.  We are a cash only family.  It works.  But occasionally when a loser client doesn’t pay his last three invoices, we tighten our belts.  It’s not easy, but in a way it’s a good thing.  I will admit that we (my kids and I) are some what spoiled.  My husband enjoys spoiling us (at least I think he does).  It is very easy to take things for granted when you don’t have to think twice about spending money. 

Back on topic.  Can you say ADD?  That’s me.

Anyway, I usually take hubs out to his favorite steak restaurant and drop some dough.  It’s worth every penny!  What?  Oh, I take him out because his girls live in another state.  He’s not my father but he is my “Big Daddy”!  Don’t hate! 

As I said, we’re conserving.  I thought of what his favorite meal might be if I were to cook.  He loves meatloaf.  I know, wouldn’t be my first choice either.  Then I remember what mom used to do for all special occasions.  She would make each person their favorite meal.  My mom could cook.  She owned a restaurant.  I think she rolls over in her grave every time I stick something frozen in the microwave to feed my family.  Everything she made was from scratch. I was a little sad today because I realized that I didn’t have the best relationship with my dad.  I did with my mom.  I decided to pull out one of the few things I was able to keep after she died.  Her cookbook. 

As you can see, it’s very worn-and not by me!  She had some of her favorite recipes bookmarked.  Some of her notes were in the margin.  When I saw her handwriting, a few tears popped into my eyes.  Guess what?  The meatloaf recipe and baked macaroni and cheese recipe were bookmarked.  Guess what I made for dinner!

Meat loaf

Baked Mac & Cheese

Finally, in black and white in honor of cooking the old fashioned way and using the old cookbook, the rolls!  I even served real butter!

(WordPress-why won’t you let me align left)

I really must say that the recipes were very easy.  The house smelled wonderful.  It was cheaper to make than most convenience foods.  And…….it was the bomb!  I think my husband had a sexual experience while eating!  Do you know what he told me when I was done?  “Honey, you can do this every week!” 

Although it tasted good and felt good to serve a home cooked meal, don’t come back next week in hopes of seeing another masterpiece!

Happy Father’s Day!

 

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * tommiea says:

    Yeah for you for cooking a great meal! I miss making family meals. With just two toddlers basically, I don’t really cook too much since hubby is gone.

    What steak place?? We are looking for some great ones. We just moved from near KC, MO and found some great ones there.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 6 months ago
  2. * christie says:

    mmmm that looks yummy!!

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 6 months ago
  3. * meritt says:

    Other than the fact that you spelled flour with a “w” this post almost brought tears to my eyes! YEAH FOR YOU!!!!

    And that cookbook of your mothers? OMG if I ever make it to Texas to visit you can I please please please sit and look at it!???? My heart is all a flutter. 😉

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 6 months ago
  4. * sheri says:

    Meritt-LOL. I sure did spell it with a “w”. Duh. Cook and spell in one day – I guess that’s asking too much. Oh, and if you come to Texas-you most certainly can look through her cookbook!

    tommiea-Prime Time Steakhouse on 1960 and Perry. It’s the bomb! Perry’s Steakhouse – Cypresswood Dr. and I think there is another location in Memorial-Execellent plus a HUGE wine selection. Last but not least-Taste of Texas off Katy Freeway.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 6 months ago
  5. * Katie says:

    Looks good!

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 6 months ago
  6. * Dixie says:

    I wish I had more time to cook like that. I love to cook homemade meals.

    I cooked the hubs lasagna for Father’s Day. That’s his fave.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 6 months ago
  7. * tommiea says:

    When DH gets back, we are going to take a long weekend to go to San Antonio or Houston. Just some time away for us. I know he would love to try one of these!

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 6 months ago
  8. Nothing like some good, old-fashioned comfort food!!!

    Looks fabulous!

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 6 months ago
  9. Does that ship to Louisiana? If so, hook a bitch up.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 6 months ago
  10. * SuZan says:

    I’m impressed!!

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 6 months ago
  11. * speckledpup says:

    okay, girl.
    you’re the bomb.

    And I love to cook and like you, never do.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 6 months ago
  12. * speckledpup says:

    he’s a lucky man

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 6 months ago
  13. * Kate says:

    you are da bomb! And I love the title. I can cook from scratch but very rarely do!

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 6 months ago
  14. The meal was yummy! Thanks, babe. 🙂

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 6 months ago
  15. * Arlene says:

    Looks so yummy!!!! I rarely cook anything “home made” as I just plain ‘ol don’t have time. I do try to on the weekends though 🙂 Good job toots!!

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 6 months ago
  16. * Shell says:

    Look at you being all domestic-like! It looked so good and I don’t even like meat loaf!

    Those rolls though…oh…if you ever feel sorry for me bring over some of those rolls. I love homemade rolls.

    My Dad got the short end of the stick. We gave him a gift certificate and told him he wanted BBQ for dinner.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 6 months ago


Leave a Reply

