Celebrating Women for the Real World



WTF? (For Lack of a Better Title)

Yesterday it was announced that Houston has the 2nd highest homicide rate behind Philadelphia.  You can read about it here.

Why do I care?  I care because this has affected my family.  Stick with me.  I need to get this out.  I’m mad.  Mad may not be the right word.  Maybe it is.  I’m not sure what I’m feeling but, if you’re interested, read on.

Back in October I wrote a post about something that happened to my family that I couldn’t talk about.  I can talk about it now.  My brother-in-law’s crazy wife basically killed her mother.  Yes, you heard me correctly, she killed her mother.  Here is the initial story. 

I’d like to give you a little insider information.  Let me start by saying that my brother-in-law is a great person.  We’ll call him K.  He would not hurt anyone.  He would give a complete stranger the shirt of his back.  He sat with me until after midnight while why husband (his brother) was in surgery.  He walked me to my car and made sure I got on the road safely.  He’s a great guy.  He married Talisha.  My husband and I never really got close to her.  We felt she was “off”.  We figured that if K wanted to share information with us, he would.  He never did.  One day her mother had surgery.  She almost died.  The surgery was botched and she became totally dependent on a ventilator and her caregivers to live.  K opened his home (and his bank account) to his wife to create an environment to care for his mother-in-law.  He went beyond the call of duty.  Talisha during all of this played the roll of “vicitim” and made his life a living Hell.  I won’t expound other than to say, we knew she was “medicated” and usually made no sense when she came around the family.  Honestly, if you read the story and listen to the 911 call, I’m pretty sure you will come to the same conclusion.

When we found out what happened, we were quite optimistic when we found out that Kelly Siegler was the DA that would represent the State.  We were even more encouraged that justice would prevail as, during the time between the incident and her trial while she was out on bond, her bond was revoked as she tested positive for illegal drugs……THREE TIMES!  Her bond was revoked people!!! 

Yesterday we received dismal news.  This is the outcome of the ordeal.  Really, WTF?  Does anyone else think this sentence is nothing more than a slap on the hand?  I’m so angry.  This article makes K look like a bad guy and Talisha look like a victim.  I’d like to clarify something in this article.  It states “when her husband left her on Oct. 14.”  They tried to make it sound like caring for her mother destroyed her marriage.  No, it didn’t.  Her leaving him for weeks at a time, wrecking cars while drunk, the drug use, things like that was destroying her marriage.  Not caring for her mother.  In fact, K said he would move out of his house (he owned it before him and Talisha married) and would continue to make sure that Talisha could financially care for her mother.  But, he did not “leave her” that morning.  He left the house to go to work.  He did not leave the house as in to leave her.

I’m just so disappointed in our legal system.  Thanks for listening.  I feel that if at least the readers of this little blog got to hear some truths, at least I’ve done something. 

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Katie says:

    Our legal system will never cease to piss me off.

    I am sorry for your BIL.

    | Reply Posted 10 years ago
  2. * Shell says:

    Damn that sucks.

    | Reply Posted 10 years ago
  3. * Kami says:

    WTF? Deferred adjudication for unplugging someone’s VENT? WOW. I mean, I wasn’t there, but from the call, it sound to me like that’s exactly what she did.

    WOW. Just wow.

    That just shocks me.

    | Reply Posted 10 years ago
  4. * Dixie says:

    Just another example of how this country is going to hell in a handbasket.

    I am so sorry for your brother in law.

    | Reply Posted 10 years ago
  5. * Carrie says:

    That is just insane. She should be in jail. THat is such bullshit. So sorry for your BIL.

    | Reply Posted 10 years ago
  6. * meritt says:

    I’m not really sure what to say; I’m sorry just doesn’t convey the frustration and anger that I feel along with you. I have no trust in our justice system and haven’t since I was about 12 years old. It isn’t justice… it’s whose lawyer is a better actor and wins over the jury. It’s a mess than the TRUTH can’t be brought up in court and the juror’s never know the true stories behind any of the cases they are hearing. It’s about money and power. It’s about being politically correct. It’s about everything BUT justice.

    I’m sorry. I truly am. The frustration and anger you feel is understandable.

    (And do you know that every single day I read the news there is at least 2-3 crazy homicide stories that catch my eye and when I read the city they came from, they are from Houston.)

    | Reply Posted 10 years ago
  7. * Tammy says:

    That is truly, truly a tragedy. I can’t believe she got away with it.

    However, I am a firm believer in karma. She will get what’s coming to her in the end.

    | Reply Posted 10 years ago
  8. Dude, please know that when karma finds her, it won’t be pretty. I know that is small consolation now, but damn, what else to say? Sorry just does not cut it.

    Want me to stab her in the neck?

    | Reply Posted 10 years ago
  9. * TxMom says:

    Wow. I am sorry for you and your family. It is true that our justice system often offers no justice. Karma is the answer.

    | Reply Posted 10 years ago
  10. * Karen says:

    Holy cow, Sheri. What a story. Your poor BIL.

    Our crime rate hacks me off so bad. I don’t like what is happening at all.

    | Reply Posted 10 years ago
  11. * Nancy says:

    Oh Sheri, I’m so sorry. I’ve a not completely dissimiliar story that happened to a member of my family, and I’ve not had the courage to blog about it yet, nor may ever have.

    I hope K is able to rebuild his life AWAY from that female pretending to be his wife.

    | Reply Posted 10 years ago
  12. * Kate says:

    Wow is all I can say. I am so disappointed in our legal system.

    I am a firm believer in Karma as well it will come back and bite her in the ass!

    | Reply Posted 10 years ago
  13. * Bammy says:

    I feel what you are going through.. after the murder of my mother.. by my step father.. he spent a week in jail in Dallas.. yep.. a week.. and was let out on bail and took the chicken shit way out and killed himself..
    but 5 years deferred?? Great googlymoogley… too bad they didnt pop her for dope .. she would have gotten a much harsher sentence in texas for that..
    Karma will get her.. most likely on a crack deal gone bad..
    and.. isnt it funny.. when people always seem to be “looking for God” when they get arrested?
    Good luck to your family.. specially the brother in law.. he sound like a good guy..

    P.S. I came here through TKW’s blog..

    | Reply Posted 10 years ago


Leave a Reply

