Celebrating Women for the Real World



Wild Card Wednesday

Damn, they just don’t make ‘em like they used to…

THANK BOB!

Today’s Wild-card Wednesday is brought to you by the witty and talented tutu making, Mama Duck.  She tells us to take a picture of something that they just don’t make like they used to so I came up with this:

2007-05-26 14-02-21_0001

The glasses on the left are mine from when I graduated High School. See how BIG they are? See how thick they are? See how I’m dating myself now? You see, back then, about a century or two ago, they didn’t have the technology to thin those damn lenses, so yes my friends, those are coke-bottom-lenses.

The pair on the right are what I wear now (so.much.better), but hopefully in a couple of weeks, I won’t need any at all!

Woo Hoo!!!

Let us know if you played and let TKW know if you played too!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Kami says:

    OMG. Why do you still have those?

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 4 months ago
  2. * meritt says:

    My first glance at your page (while the photos were still loading) was “Awww…. your glasses look like you!” but then the page loaded and you REALLY DID POST A PICTURE OF GLASSES! But you posted ‘eye’ glasses.

    My comment is actually for the WINE GLASSES. LOL.

    So again: “Awww, your glasses really look like you!”

    🙂

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 4 months ago
  3. * speckledpup says:

    great post.
    I have often marveled at my then and now glasses.
    Course I’m a contact girl….
    forever.
    Until I get my lasik done.
    I get that done as soon as I work up my courage.
    And I ‘m getting my courage worked up as soon as I get the perfect pedicure.
    And I don’t like people touching my feet.
    It’s a vicious circle.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 4 months ago
  4. * Tammy says:

    I used to get so made fun of in high school for the glasses I wore. “Grandma” was an often used tease.

    I was also told that I was not wearing glasses, I was wearing a windshield. Nice, no?

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 4 months ago
  5. And thank Bob they don’t make them like that anymore!

    But more importantly, why in the world do you still have them!!?!

    Bonus Points for creativly interpreting the theme of the week!

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 4 months ago
  6. * Arlene says:

    Are you getting Lasik? How exciting!! Amazing how much stuff changes!!!!
    I played too 🙂

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 4 months ago
  7. Girl, those were thick. Much like my ass.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 4 months ago
  8. * Katie says:

    My first pair of glasses were Sally Jesse red. Yes, I was a hottie. Thank god for contacts.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 4 months ago
  9. * Shell says:

    I wish I could get lasik but my lenses are too flat or something like that.

    I had horrible glasses in high school too.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 4 months ago


Leave a Reply

