Celebrating Women for the Real World



Melt Down City

I hate to admit this, but I had a melt down last night.  Not a mini-melt; a full blown, couldn’t catch my breath kind of melt down.  Do you know how hard that is for me to admit that?  Very hard.  I’m a control freak.  My emotions fall under the control umbrella.  I don’t like to melt down; but I did.  It was one of those days.  I felt  ike everyone needed something from me and I couldn’t handle it.  After sitting in traffic for 1.25 hours; I walked into the house.  I felt like everything just started slamming into me.  The wash, the dishes, the mess, the stuff that wasn’t where it belonged (I have some OCD issues).  Then it happened.  My 18 year old son asked me what I was making for dinner.  Imagine the tea kettle effect when the water reaches the boiling point.  Yup!  That’s what my family got.  I think my head spun and my body parts contorted to a different configuration.  At least, that’s how they were staring at me. 

I told them they were all on their own for dinner.  I didn’t care if they ate candy, I was done.  Done, done, done.  I then went to the gym.  I stayed there for a looonnnggg time.  I felt much better afterwards.  However, I must say that climbing stairs and going to the bathroom isn’t easy today.

I would like to publicly thank my husband for not calling the divorce lawyers.  Or the psycho ward.   Honey, you put up with so much.  You are the best!  I love you! 

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Kami says:

    Glad you worked that shit out at the gym, instead of killing the young.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  2. * meritt says:

    Oh hon… we’ve all had them. Huge melt downs… and release and then we can pull ourselves back up by our bootstraps and trudge on.

    The ‘gym’ though… that is a foreign concept to me. Sounds scarry and horrible and awful. I do not want to venture there.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  3. * Carrie says:

    ditto what Kami said. 🙂 Good for you for finding a positive way to work out your frustration!

    You know, when I am feeling like that I just say ‘to hell with it’ about things like the wash, trash, cooking… that’s what delivery is for, right? 🙂

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  4. * Tammy says:

    I feel ya sister. Glad you are feeling better.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  5. * Katie says:

    Glad you are feeling better.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  6. * kate says:

    I have had my fair share of melt downs. We all do!

    My mom gave us the whole feed yourself thing a couple of times with I don’t care if it is candy! We never did eat candy though!

    Glad you are feeling better today!

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  7. * Shell says:

    I usually take my frustration out on Ben & Jerry’s since those bastards have made half of my problems anyway.

    Look on the bright side! You’ve probably got the hovering over the public potty seat muscles now!

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  8. Hmmmmmm. Been there. I think we’ve all done that…even sacrified hair brushes, sippy cups and other things along the way that got whipped across the room when we have “Had It”!

    Hope things are going better…I know you will bust out the ‘ritas if things get dire…

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  9. * Arlene says:

    We all need a melt down sometimes, and I’m glad you’re all better 🙂

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  10. * Lauri says:

    Been there, done that…a few times. I hope it helped to relieve some of the tension!

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 2 months ago


Leave a Reply

