Celebrating Women for the Real World



Maybe We Should Close Down The Corner Gas Station While We’re At It

Crazy title, huh?  Yeah.  But stick with me and you’ll see where I’m coming from. 

My daughter takes a bottle of water to school everyday.  Yesterday I ran out.  I told her to take a travel mug full of water, but she told me they weren’t allowed to.  Only water is allowed and only in clear bottles. 

Now I know why.  It would be very easy to sneak something in that’s NOT acceptable.  But you could also fill your travel mug with an acceptable beverage such as water. 

It’s not that I really have a problem with the rule per say.  I guess my problem is the rational.  One kid screws up, now no one can bring a drink in anything other than a see through container.  By banning other containers, it’s almost like banning our kids from the opportunity to make good choices.  That would be like closing all corner stores because one got robbed and we don’t want anyone else to make a bad choice.

Do you see where I’m going with this?  Yes, it is easier on teachers if they don’t have to worry about what someone may be drinking.  But, wouldn’t you rather have your kid screw up when they are still young enough to learn a lesson in a safe environment?  I mean, how easy is it for our teachers to now have to monitor what kind of drinking cup/bottle is brought into the school?  That takes time away from teaching. 

Does the title make sense now?

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Shell says:

    That makes absolutely no sense whatsoever because I can think of at least three off the top of my head of liquors that are clear.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 4 months ago
  2. * Katie says:

    That is one of the best uses of an educators time! I agree, shut down every gas station while we’re at it.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 4 months ago
  3. * Kami says:

    I was thinking what Shell said.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 4 months ago
  4. * jessie says:

    Yeah, but once they get to high school they start sneaking in vodka in clear bottles. Its a no win situation, they might as well just allow travel mugs anyhow.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 4 months ago
  5. * Dixie says:

    We were allowed to bring in drinks as long as it was in a plastic bottle. If I ever brought one, it was Sprite with a splash or two of vodka. I started early.

    I know, I’m going to hell.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 4 months ago
  6. * Arlene says:

    The title makes sense, the rule doesn’t!
    And yeah, how do they know it’s not a clear alcohol??

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 4 months ago
  7. * Carrie says:

    What Shell said…

    heck at my HS, we used to bring jello shots disguised as a lunch snack to school. What a stupid rule.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 4 months ago
  8. * meritt says:

    “S” used to bring vodka to school as a Freshman. Looks like water. She would also fill a Mountain Dew can with vodka. Kept it in her locker.

    Rules like that are stupid because it makes it more difficult for all the kids… while the ones who really want to bring ‘other’ drinks just find more creative ways to do it. It doesn’t stop them.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 4 months ago
  9. In this crazy world, better save than sorry.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 4 months ago
  10. * Tammy says:

    Why do people always ruin everything? That’s why I hate them.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 4 months ago


Leave a Reply

