Celebrating Women for the Real World



I’m Almost Moving In To The 21st Century

No, moving is not the correct word. I’m coming in kicking and screaming!

If ever I’ve given you all the impression that I’m some kind of techno-geek, I apologize. I pretty much suck at anything technical. Why I’m in charge of the server and such at the office? I have no clue. I guess I just fake it til I make it! I did, however, marry this guy jkOnTheRun. He is ALL things tech. Yeah, he’s even in the process of negotiating something BIG. Big I tell ya. But, I can’t tell ya what it is.

So where does the “I’m moving into the 21st century” come in? Well, you go to my husband’s study, and you’ll usually see about 4 computers on his desk or in his hand. The computers-they aren’t sitting there collecting dust. He uses them – ALL! He reviews units. He also is a consultant for the oil & gas industry and travels to several different client offices during the day. It’s important for him to be mobil. Even more so, he doesn’t understand why everyone is NOT mobil-including me!!

Now for my set-up. I have a Tablet HP1100. Really cool. Very compact! Could sit out in our “retreat” and blog, work, read, whatever. How do I use my little tool? Tethered to the outlet, with the keyboard while I sit at my desk! Why? Cause I’m an old dog. I don’t learn new tricks easily.

That being said, guess where I’m blogging from. No really, guess! I’m at a hip coffee shop in downtown Houston called the “Tropioca”. Not only that, I’m blogging from a MAC. As in an Apple. As in, I swore I’d never, ever, use a Mac. Guess what? Mac’s are THAT good. A little backwards, but once you get used to it, it’s definitely cool.

As if this was not a big enough step for me, I’m not at the Tropioca because I wanted a cup of coffee; I’m actually here attending a “Geek fest” with my hubs. Really, they’re talking computers and everything. And they are really impressed with me because I’m sitting here and blogging, from a Mac! Am I cool or what? Don’t hate!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Geeky Info » Blog Archive » apple macbook pro and the waterfield sleeve case pingbacked on 10 years, 2 months ago

Comments

  1. * Karen says:

    We have the same husband. As if I’m not insecure enough about my computer ignorance!

    Wishing you and SuZan a happy Easter!

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  2. * Arlene says:

    Not only are you super cool, but I’m super jealous! I have yet to hang out in a coffee shop and blog 🙂

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  3. * Katie says:

    I love coffee shop blogging. I haven’t done it for a while though. Hmmm, now I need coffee.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  4. * Shell says:

    I keep saying my next computer is going to be a Mac but I’ll have to wait till my Dad dies since he worked for IBM for 25 years.

    Boyfriend is a geek boy. He just bought me for my birthday a super fast modem. Now I can bother everyone on the internet FASTER.

    You shoulda told me you would be downtown ’cause you’re real close to me. We could have joined ya for coffee!

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  5. * Dixie says:

    Lucky you! I’m jealous! I wish I were mobile.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  6. * Kami says:

    But is your cell phone on your belt?

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  7. OMG.

    I bow down in your techno-glow.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  8. * meritt says:

    My kids want a MAC.
    For 1 reason and 1 reason only. “Garage Band”
    It only only comes in apple.

    🙂

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  9. * Wellness says:

    Hey

    I was surfing the web and i saw this site, pretty cool.
    Currently im running and adult site:Wellness
    k, just want to say hi 🙂
    Can i link you from my site? im looking for quality content like yours. If no let me know if i can add u in exchange for a montly fee or something.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 10 months ago
  10. * Idetrorce says:

    very interesting, but I don’t agree with you
    Idetrorce

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 6 months ago
  11. * sandrar says:

    Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 9 months ago
  12. * megan fox says:

    Sign: umsun Hello!!! rcuwwymhyw and 4640ssgfhphzye and 4423Nice blog!

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 9 months ago


Leave a Reply

