Celebrating Women for the Real World



Good Intentions

Well, I had good intentions to get an early start and write a witty and intelligent post, but, all I have to say is….bow, chica, bow, bow!  (Don’t hate)

I will share something funny.  I live in the burbs, but just barely the burbs.  On the other side of the street is farm country (for now-at least until some big developer comes in and starts building).  There is a Walmart that hugs the line (burbs/country).  I always have some kind of memorable experience every time I go there.  For instance, Sunday evening I ran up there at the last minute because I ran out of dirt (planting soil).  Picture this-me, no makeup, my “I don’t care bra”, shorts with paint stains and any other stain that comes with the territory, hair- I’m not even sure what that looked like, my crocks (love these), and dirt all over my knees, legs, elbows-you get the idea.  So, I’m running in with tunnel vision to buy my dirt.  First, a pick-up truck drove by and the driver whistled at me!  No, not whistled like “hey stupid, get out of the road”. It was a whistle like “whatcha YOU doin!”  OK.  So I run in, take my spot in line (I was the 2nd person), the checker finished with the guy in front of me and I was all “I need 5 bags of dirt.”  She told me to wait while she found someone to check me out.  OK.  Then she asked me to move to the other register.  OK.  Now, there is no one else in line.  So I’m standing there, she’s standing, there, we’re looking at each other……then two other checkers come up (there are only 2 registers).  The original checker tells the other checker to ring me up to which the other checker replies “OK, but this other lady that just got in line was first!”  Blink, blink.  K, now I don’t usually lose my patience, but, WTF?  Not only did they take me first, they took me so fast and loaded me up to get me off the property….quickly!  I was that mad.

On Monday I ran to the same Walmart to get dog food.  It had been a killer day.  I decided a bottle of wine would be a nice ending to the evening.  (Shut it!  It was a long day.  At least I didn’t buy the “box-o-whine”).  Go up to pay, the checker cards me!  What?  I’m in my big girls clothes.  My suit, my heals, the whole 9 yards!  I asked him when he thought I was born.  He said 1982.  I could have kissed him!!!  Then I asked him when he last had an eye exam!  LOL. 

Walmart-gotta love it! 

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. First bitches.

    Yeah, we did the whole dirt in the hair look at Wally this weekend when we decided we needed more dirt and mulch. Uh huh. Fun times.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 3 months ago
  2. * Kami says:

    I went to Lowe’s the other day in a dirty tee, boxers, and my Crocs.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 3 months ago
  3. * Shell says:

    Is that Walmart’s new gimmick? To flatter us girls to make us come back?

    I’ve got the ghetto Walmart. I avoid it at all costs.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 3 months ago
  4. * Dixie says:

    Don’t you love getting compliments on days you KNOW you look like shit?

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 3 months ago
  5. Ahhh, look like shit, get compliments. Must remember that!

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 3 months ago
  6. * Katie says:

    I don’t know if that would be enough to get me back to Walmart. I hate that place.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 3 months ago
  7. * Carrie says:

    Adventures at Wally World are always entertaining. 😛

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 3 months ago


Leave a Reply

