Celebrating Women for the Real World



Spring Has Sprung

Spring is officially here in H-town. How do I know this you ask? Just look at the crap I see on my car every morning.

Yes, isn’t that lovely? No wonder my sinuses are going crazy.

Now for the fun part of Spring…During Spring break I made two flower gardens. The small one about killed me because the ground was so hard I had to take a pick ax to it. Then came the torrential rains.

It was messy and muddy but sooooooo much easier to dig up the dirt. I was actually able to level most of the back yard and make the larger bed.

This bed has some sort of annual (I don’t remember what they are), a bush that has blue flowers (no I don’t know what it is called either), carpet roses, pink jasmine and white crystal. This bed smells so good when you walk out on the deck.

The larger of the two beds I am most proud of. I am still such a novice on the landscaping thing but I really enjoyed putting it together. The only problem is when I go to the garden store I am overwhelmed with all the different plants.

This bed has: Saratoga Tobacco Plants, white crystals, fox tail ferns, azaleas, humming bird sage and petunias.

Can you believe I was on top of a rock pile and picked out the rocks for the borders. Big G was amused until I picked out the bolders to go in the bed.

🙂

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * aka_Meritt says:

    I’m not yet sure if you just make me feel pathetic… or inspire me.

    I’ll let you know.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 7 months ago
  2. * Christie says:

    ewww
    I have horrible allergies too

    I’m so jealous though. I wish a had a yard to plant lovely flowers in 😦

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 7 months ago
  3. * Sheri & SuZan says:

    Damn. And here I was all proud of the shit I replanted into pots! You so need to come and inspire me this weekend. I promise we can sit in the hot tub when we’re done!

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 7 months ago
  4. * Shell says:

    Wow…looks like you were really busy!

    Looks great!

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 7 months ago
  5. * The Kept Woman says:

    Ohhhhh, I don’t miss the yellow pollen stuff. Yuck.

    Love the “wacky” plants!!! Bonus Points awarded!!!

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 7 months ago
  6. * Carrie says:

    GAWD – am I slow or what? I thought you were being funny about the ‘boulders for the bed’ like you were really getting some for your bedroom, the the lightbulb went on.

    It’s either too much time in the sun, or the bleach in my hair is affecting my brain. 😛

    The flower beds look great!!!!

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 7 months ago
  7. * tommiea says:

    Ooohh, makes me so ready to plant. I was waiting until this weekend to get some flowers. I love that boulder border.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 7 months ago
  8. * Kami says:

    Looks great!!

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 7 months ago
  9. * Teena says:

    We still have ice and snow on the ground … wanna trade??!! 🙂

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 7 months ago
  10. * Karen says:

    You did a terrific job with your flower beds. You have shamed me!

    I had to run the car through the car wash at the gas station yesterday. The pollen is all over the place and the oak trees in my yard are messing my car up! And my sinuses!

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 7 months ago
  11. * ktlee says:

    Very impressive. I kill all my plants.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 7 months ago


Leave a Reply

