Celebrating Women for the Real World



SNOW DAY!

Schools are closed. I don’t have to get up and get ready and yet…I’m wide awake. That’s just not right. At 6:00 am we get a recorded message from the school district that due to the inclement weather, the district is closed. That it all nice that they would do that for students and parents, but the recorded message WAS IN SPANISH! Does that mean that the district is closed only if you are Hispanic and/or bilingual? Thank goodness I speak Spanish or I might be getting ready for work.
.

I did go outside to see what it was like. I donned my big fluffy robe, my warm fuzzy slippers and braved the elements with camera in hand. Wouldn’t you know that I got as far as my car, clicked a picture and ran back in…it is cold people.
.
As you can see, my car is covered in ice. This is Houston, we don’t do this well.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Kami says:

    Okay. I am laughing my ass off that the recording was in Spanish. WTF? Maybe you should have called the Super at home and asked WTF? What am I supposed to do today?

    I am home AGAIN today with my kid, but we have snow!

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 7 months ago
  2. * FutureFoodTVStar says:

    At least you get a call. I called my mom and woke her up and told her it was too nasty to go to work and then she had to get up and look on the internet.

    My dad, the dedicated guy that he is, was at work at 4am this morning. When people started showing up at his store, they had their kids with them. Saying… we tried to take them to school but it was closed.

    How’s that for notification! I think I’d rather find a English Spanish translating website to figure out what your message said.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 7 months ago
  3. * Southern Fried Girl says:

    You do realize that as a bonus off day you must do all things frivolous. No getting shit done in the house. You are to park it on the sofa, eat yummy food and watch movies or daytime tv.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 7 months ago
  4. * TBG says:

    What the hell this global warming sucks I can not believe it I am so so so so jealous of your snow and ice days, damn it I want one. Come on PA get your act together and get some damn snow or even ice! Close everything down I want to stay home for a day oh and make sure my internet doesnt go out. Thanks!

    Maybe leaving this message through your blog mother nature will listen!

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 7 months ago
  5. * Karen says:

    Our no school today call came at 5:40 this morning. It was in English, though.
    The husband left late for the office, around 8:00 after letting the car warm up for a long time and letting the ice melt. Yuk.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 7 months ago
  6. * ktlee says:

    Glad you can stay in. Sounds way too yucky to be out. Enjoy your day off.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 7 months ago
  7. * Shell says:

    Sigh…I’m moving out by you guys…my ass is at work today.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 7 months ago
  8. * Dixie says:

    In Spanish? Sheesh.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 7 months ago
  9. * Carrie says:

    Cracking up that the message was in spanish. 😛

    Yay for snow days!

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 7 months ago
  10. * Teena says:

    Hola!

    Schools were closed here on Monday too because we had a bit of a storm.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 7 months ago


Leave a Reply

