Celebrating Women for the Real World



Happpy New Year!

Sheri here. I’ve been a bit remiss in posting as I’ve had a zoo at my house and apparently I’m the zoo keeper.

I hope all of you enjoyed Christmas. I have. It’s been exhausting, but enjoyable. Some of our guests left yesterday, so my sister treated me to a massage. Oh My Bob!!!!! I think I must make this a regular habit! I actually came home and took a two hour nap! That is unheard of in Motherland! Then I fell asleep early and had probably the best night’s sleep I’ve had in a long time! Great! You must do this.

I’m sure that many of you are making your resolutions and plans for next year. I know I am. Of course I make the typical lose weight, be a better wife, mother, employee resolution. As I’m thinking through all the “I’m going to’s”, I picked up the January 07 issue of Good Housekeeping. Dr. Phil wrote an article “Dr. Phil’s plan to help you change for good”. Now, I’m not usually a Dr. Phil fan. Can’t tell you why, I’m just not. I must have been very bored because I started reading his article and actually plan to use some of what I read. I will bullet the important points.

  • People don’t break habits, they replace old behaviors with new ones

That’s the whole point in his article. Say you’ve decided to exercise and eat better. Your habit of sitting on the couch with a cookie in one hand and a cold beer in the other must be replaced with a new habit. Instead of saying I won’t eat fast food, make a plan to eat more healthy foods.

  • Make exercising a commitment. Write it on your calendar like any other important appointment. Would I ever miss an opportunity to get together with the girls? No, I write it on my calendar and I tell everyone else that I have plans. Write your appointment to exercise on your calendar and keep it. I’m going to do this. I also will be realistic. If I say I’m going to go to the gym Monday-Thurs and Saturday and Sunday…..that ain’t gonna happen. But if I write down Monday and Thursday and either one day Saturday or Sunday; although it doesn’t sound as righteous as the first plan, it’s sounds better than “I will sit on the couch and watch my favorite shows!
  • Want a better marriage? Make a plan. Plan to have dinner once a week, just the two of you. Candlelight, good wine, the whole nine yards.
  • So often we only think of the negative of the people around us. Instead of thinking about what attracted us to our mate, we think “Gawd, why does he always wear those shoes with those awful pants? Why does he fart and burp while watching football with the guys?” Solution-make a list of at least 20 things that you love about your guy or what attracted you to him. Pull one of those things out every couple of weeks and think about it. Write a note saying “I think you’re sexy because, or I like it when you…” stick it in his pocket. How many of us call our husbands to say “the cat got out, the kids a mess, I don’t have enough money to pay the bills, etc?” So easy to do. Call your hubs and say “I love you and I think you’re sexy”.

OK, enough of this feel good shit. I am going to try to incorporate some of these good habits into my life and try to replace some of the bad ones. Below are some pictures that I promised before Christmas. Yes, I am a slacker. What can I say! Enjoy!

Cookies – Can’t have a Christmas without cookies!

    Daughter and son #2 putting up tree. I didn’t rotate the pic-bite me!

Daughter and son #2 not being to successful with the tree. Yes, he ended up on the floor with the tree on top of him. I was laughing to hard to take pictures.

Success!

All done and decorated. Looks like Santa was here!

Hubs enjoying his Christmas breakfast! Yeah, don’t get excited. I put bagels by the toaster and set out cream cheese.

Even muff puff got a gift from Santa!

Again, SuZan and I want to wish you all our blogging buddies a safe and happy New Year! Each of you have touched our lives in some way! It wouldn’t be the same without you!

Remember-go to the side bar and vote for your favorite blog!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Karen says:

    Happy New Year to you both!
    I voted.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 6 months ago
  2. * Tammy says:

    That is the cutest dog ever.

    I want one of those cookies with the kisses in it. Wrap it up and send it to big D. Please.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 6 months ago
  3. * Carrie says:

    Dr. Phil can be a dork at times, but he does make sense. I’ve got a couple of his books and it is easier to change your lifestyle by not giving up everything so much as just making better choices more often. 🙂

    I want a cookie. That is the most adorable dog ever! 🙂

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 6 months ago
  4. * Kami says:

    Ohhhh, pretty tree! Put some cookies in Tammy’s box for me!

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 6 months ago
  5. * Southern Fried Girl says:

    I am laughing my fool ass off about Muff Puff. I so love that name. Cracks me UP.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 6 months ago
  6. * Dixie says:

    Happy New Year!

    I love me some Dr. Phil. He knows his shit. Well, most of it anyway.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 6 months ago
  7. * Football Widow says:

    Pretty tree! Sounds like Dr. Phil may be on to something. Maybe I’ll give it a shot.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 6 months ago
  8. * Useless Man says:

    Dr Phil has nothing on our Useless Advice…

    Happy New Year to you! Just browsed through on a “next blog” adventure!

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 6 months ago


Leave a Reply

