Celebrating Women for the Real World



So Much To Do; So Little Time

Anyone else feeling the holiday crunch? Anyone? Anyone?

I noticed that bulleted posts really helps one empty one’s mind of thoughts that could cause one to have an anxiety attack. Sit back, get a cup of coffee, and read. Words of sympathy will be excepted.

  • Why or why is my boss such a Scrooge? No, really. We tripled our billing. He hired another secretary to keep up with his work. Did anyone hire another person to help me? See, I do the accounting/IT/office management type stuff. I am affected not by one attorney, but all three. All three triple their billing and what do you think happens to my workload?????? Did I get a bonus? No. Did anyone? Yes! The two partners. Quite significant if I may add. Bitter? You bet! Especially since I cut the damn checks!
  • My visitors start arriving tonight. Is the house ready? No. There are clean towels however. That should count for something.
  • Why oh why does my daughter’s car breakdown each and ever time my hubs and I are on the way out to celebrate our anniversary? Sunday night I was literally shutting the car door when she called. Hubs bought two tickets to Trans Siberian Orchestra. She was at Walmart and the car wouldn’t start! Shit! Luckily someone gave her a jump and she made it home. Hubs changed battery, in the rain on Monday. Yesterday, was our anniversary and we had reservations at a fancy restaurant. We were on the way when I get a call. “Mom, my car stalled just as I was pulling into the parking lot at work.” Again, got a jump after work and made it home. I don’t use this word much but….fuck!
  • Why or why did I choose accounting as a career? I mean really. Can I take time off over the holidays? No. I have to get ready for month end billing; payroll; year end reports; tax filings; etc., etc. I can’t like it!
  • I’m not done shopping yet! What’s that? I’m running out of time? Yup! More stress!
  • Why does my sister come to visit each and every Christmas and have some huge drama going on. Can’t write about it yet. I will.

OK, I must stop now. Really, sympathy will be appreciated. Or wine…..wine for my whine! I just made myself laugh.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Southern Fried Girl says:

    LOLOL. Major sympathy from these here parts. I hate end of the year crunch.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 8 months ago
  2. * Carrie says:

    That is so wrong about the bonuses. At least we get something. Although, I can get it across to boss that some people need that money to buy Christmas gifts and it would be nice to give earlier than this Friday.

    That sucks about the daughters car! happy Anniversary! 🙂

    Are you going to make it tonight? Lots of wine and sympathy… 🙂

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 8 months ago
  3. * Jana says:

    Would you like a little cheese with that whine?

    You have my sympathy.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 8 months ago
  4. * aka_Meritt says:

    I am SO incredibly sorry about the lack of bonuses. I feel your pain as I cut the checks too. And no, I’ve never gotten a bonus. (And right now they owe me about an $8,000 bonus to make up for what they WOULD HAVE PAID my co-worker if he was still here to do the jobs I have been doing in his absence.)

    Instead, I make as much in 2 weeks as they pay a woman to come in for ONE DAY just to check the financial books and the bank statement.

    Sigh.

    OH – So… did you have to skip the concert????? NO WAY. You should have had someone (a friend) go pick her up and deal with her car the next day. I hope you went out.

    Get her a AAA card. No more worries! (We are adding BabyGirl to ours next month when we renew and she just turns 16).

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 8 months ago
  5. * TBG says:

    Oh that sucks about the daughters car!

    Bonus should be given to all around the holidays!

    It will all work out and all will get done!

    Hopefully Christmas is enjoyable with your sister!

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 8 months ago
  6. * Shell says:

    Check her alternator. It might be out. Auto Zone can run a test.

    Yes…you must come tonight…we will shower you with alcohol and sympathy…plus Nicole said there’s going to be an overabundance of sugar!!

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 8 months ago
  7. * Christie says:

    *big hugs*!!!!!!!!

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 8 months ago
  8. * Shell says:

    Oh yeah…the bonus thing…that REALLY sucks. I think I would be throwing the biggest fit if I had to break the checks and got nothing.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 8 months ago
  9. * Lori says:

    Gah! I totally hear you on the accounting stuff during the holidays. And the fact that our types of jobs are the LAST that the powers that be tend to increase headcount in even though the rest of the business is growing. Makes me batshit.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 8 months ago
  10. * Karen says:

    I was in accounting for a large part of my working-in-an-office life and I totally know the feeling of cutting big checks for lots of other people, not me. It stinks.
    Merry Christmas.
    I hope you went to TransSiberian Orchestra. They’re wonderful.
    I just purchased tickets to “Spamalot” when it comes at the end of next May!

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 8 months ago
  11. * Football Widow says:

    Much sympathy coming your way. Yes, clean towels are good. Accounting is bad. I hate it. I finally gave up balancing my check book since I have online banking.

    Hang in there. It will all be over soon. Or just spike your coffee. That seems to help 🙂

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 8 months ago
  12. * Kami says:

    See, no matter how much I love my kid, I would have NOT missed TSO. So glad she got a jump. 😉

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 8 months ago
  13. * Sheri & SuZan says:

    Oh, I went to the concert. I’m working on the “you want to be an adult….take what comes” thing with my kids. If she’s old enough to drive, she must learn how to handle what comes along with it. Granted I would have helped her with ideas as to who to call, and I certainly would have gone out and given her a jump if I wasn’t doing something else. Tough love….Yup, it’s tougher on the parents.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 8 months ago


Leave a Reply

