Celebrating Women for the Real World



Sound Off!

Today’s post is going to be a little ranting:

Yesterday I was reading Tammy’s blog and she really got me thinking about the whole ‘Politically Correct’ crap we endure day in and day out. I heard on the news yesterday that a Judge is making FEMA reinstate payments to the Katrina evacuees; and furthermore, that it is retro active. The hell? It has been almost a year and a half now? Are we going to have to support them forever?

~~~~~~~~~~

At work several of us were discussing reports that kids going off to college are ill prepared to live on their own. There are articles that state the kids can’t balance a check book, haven’t developed critical thinking skills as it relates to everyday life and that they don’t know how to dicipline themselves to get their work done. I thought it was the parent’s job to teach our own kids problem solving and common sense stuff. I guess some want the schools to raise them too? Most of ya’ll know how I feel about helicopter moms.

~~~~~~~~~~

By God (yes…that’s right G – O – D). If I want to go to a ‘Christmas Party’ I’m going to a ‘Christmas Party’. Don’t call it a seasonal party or a holiday party or even a winter party. If you are offended by the ‘CHRIST’ in Christmas, then fk-it don’t go!

~~~~~~~~~~

Who the hell came up with the term ‘Politically Correct’ anyway? Common decency has taught us to be respectful of others but THIS has gone way overboard.

~~~~~~~~~~

Would someone get through to our dog Zeus, that our cat (Mercedes) is NEVER going to be his friend as long as he sticks his cold, wet dog nose on her ass!

~~~~~~~~~~

That is all! I feel so much better now.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * The Kept Woman says:

    Bravo.

    I hate the whole anti-Christmas movement. This comes from someone who is border-line agnostic but for God’s sake…it is what it is, people. Suck it the hell up and get over yourselves.

    Sorry.

    And BTW, cats are so snooty that way, aren’t they?

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 6 months ago
  2. * Kami says:

    What’s a helicopter mom? One that goes and goes and goes?

    You’re right; we need to teach our kids that stuff. 🙂

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 6 months ago
  3. * Southern Fried Girl says:

    I agree with all that, chicas. I just don’t get all the PC bullshit and all that goes with it.

    Do you think I would freak the fuck out if someone said Happy Hanukah (or however you spell it) or Happy Kwanzaa to me?

    Nope, could not give less of a shit. I know what I celebrate and that’s good enough for me.

    And as for kids leaving the house with no clue, shit that is patently obviously. Not to mention that most of them make it into their 30s with still barely a clue. I know of several examples.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 6 months ago
  4. * Tammy says:

    I hate people.

    Great rant, girlfriend.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 6 months ago
  5. * Carrie says:

    Amen, Amen, Amen. 🙂

    Poor Zeus, maybe in time he’ll catch on. He’s just trying to say, ‘hello’. 😛

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 6 months ago
  6. * brightonwoman says:

    I am SO with you on the PC garbage. I mean, sure, let’s be nice and tactful to people…but that doesn’t mean we have to stop talking! The other day my 6yo son leaned over to me and said “mom, that guy there is really fat” and you know, he WAS really fat! I told my son that he was right, but that we shouldnt’ say it so loud because it might hurt the fat guy’s feelings…but am I going to tell my son that the guy’s not fat? No way, Duh!!!

    brightonwoman
    http://davejenni1203.etsy.com

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 6 months ago
  7. * Robin says:

    On the note of FEMA and Katrina.
    I spent some time working relief down there in January, and I have to say that yes, FEMA should continue to pay up. In January you could have told anyone that the hurricane had happened the week before, and it would have been believable. We went down to the 9th ward and we were followed by Homeland Security, because they didn’t want anyone trying to clean things up. We spent time with a man who was given a trailer by FEMA, but it sat in his yard for 3 months because they wouldn’t come hook it to the electricity pole, and he wasn’t allowed to live in it until they did. We were also there when they kicked everyone out of the hotels so that the frat boys could come down for Mardi Gras.

    FEMA screwed up royally, and everyone is paying for it.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 6 months ago
  8. * Nancy says:

    Zeus is just saying hello, and perhaps likes goosing the cat too.

    PC stuff has been taking all the fun out of being a public school teacher for the last 12 years or so. Used to, one of the perks of being a teacher was getting to celebrate like crazy.

    Now? shhhhhhh don’t let anyone catch you actually celebrating or studying a Christian holiday… or admitting that there are a lot of the students who do celebrate Christmas…and anything else. sigh

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 6 months ago


Leave a Reply

