Celebrating Women for the Real World



Wisdom Teeth-Why???

I know, I promised last Friday that I’d post before and after pics of dear J. See, I’m a master procrastinator. This weeks excuse-My back thinks I’m older than I really am. It didn’t take well to 3 hours of yard work on Sunday. Picture this-heating pad, walking hunched over, pink fuzzy slipper at the office because heals cause excruciating pain. Yeah, I broke down and went to the doctor today. I don’t go to doctors. I can’t like doctors. They want to do to many tests and stuff. I can’t like tests. Lucky for me, I found a doc that believed me when I told him I didn’t do anything to my back other than overexertion. I told him what how I thought I should treat it (let’s try some drug therapy), and he agreed! Amazing-I’ve taken my sixth steroid in six hours. This stuff better work. My son G (I don’t talk about him much, but let me say he has quite the sense of humor); he looked at me with that “there’s something on your face” look. He said, I don’t know about your back, but your mustache sure has grown! Funny guy!

Back to the pics. The whole wisdom teeth thing is said and done. Friday and Saturday were not fun. The swelling came on Sunday. We followed the docs orders and low and behold, she was up and running around (even worked) yesterday. She’s such a quick healer. I do have to tell on her-after they loaded her in the car, not fully conscious, the first thing she asked for was her phone. I gave it to her just for grins. Of course she wasn’t able to hold it much less text. The phone fell but her fingers kept moving as if she was texting. Her eyes were open! It was too funny.

Here she is:

Above-J Before Surgery (she wasn’t thrilled that I was taking her pic without her makeup on)

Below-J after surgery (that’s bear bear and blankie-she’s had them forever. They’ve been through surgery with her before. Whenever I see those, I know some thing’s wrong)

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Christie says:

    ohhhh poor thing! 😦

    | Reply Posted 11 years ago
  2. * Kami says:

    OMG! Poor thing!!!

    I am sooooo lucky. I will never get those damn teeth. WHEW!

    | Reply Posted 11 years ago
  3. * Lori says:

    Oooh jeez! Glad to hear she recovered fairly quickly. The texting thing is so funny.

    My eldest needs to have them out too and we keep putting it off. Perhaps after sports are over.

    | Reply Posted 11 years ago
  4. * Kelly says:

    Poor sweetie! I hated having mine out! The experience was not pleasant!

    | Reply Posted 11 years ago
  5. * aka_Meritt says:

    Oooooh that poor thing. You took a photo of her without makeup. 😦

    .
    .
    .
    .
    .

    Bah ha ha ha.

    Ok – so she looks sooo miserable on the couch!!! But I need to say that I WILL NOT let BabyGirl see this page while that photo is up because we are supposed to schedule a wisdom tooth removal surgery ourselves… and haven’t yet. There just never seems to be a good time!!!

    If I show her the couch photo she’ll never let me make the appointment! LOL.

    | Reply Posted 11 years ago
  6. * Southern Fried Girl says:

    Awww, poor thing.

    Mom, no taking pics with no make up. What the hell you thinking? Jeeeezzzzzz….

    😉

    | Reply Posted 11 years ago
  7. * Teena says:

    Poor thing 😦

    | Reply Posted 11 years ago
  8. * Candy says:

    Poor thing indeed… glad to hear she’s on the mend! LOL about the phone… I’m a text addict too, so I feel her pain!

    | Reply Posted 11 years ago
  9. * Shell says:

    Ugh…flashbacks of having mine out. I had dry sockets IN ALL FOUR. Took me months to finally heal. Hopefully she will fare much better.

    | Reply Posted 11 years ago
  10. * Finelly says:

    So sorry to hear your girl’s in pain. I hated having mine out.
    Hope it has been a speedy recovery.

    | Reply Posted 11 years ago
  11. * Mama C says:

    She looks so miserable. Tooth pain is the worst. I love the blankie and bear. Hope she has recovered by now….

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 12 months ago


Leave a Reply

