Celebrating Women for the Real World



Stuff Portrait Friday!

It’s hard to believe that it is time for SPF again! This week, Kristine wants to dedicate SPF to Janelle to honor National Epilepsy Awareness Month. Our assignment:

1. Something you seize (as in seizure, get it?)
2. Something that shakes (because you shake when you have seizures)
3. And something purple (because purple is the color for National Epilepsy Awareness Month!

SOMETHING I SEIZE

This one I will take more literal. Both of my G’s have each had a seizure. Each time I think I aged at least ten years. When G2 had his I was there, and it is true that training kicks in. I was calm and did what I needed to do but in the ambulance once G2 was fully conscious, the EMT made me lie down and gave me oxygen. Big G’s came on some years later when he was playing a video game (yes, strobe type lighting can trigger seizures in some people) at lunch. I got to the hospital as fast as I could. Both are fine today and I don’t care to have to go through that type of situation again.

SOMETHING THAT SHAKES

It shakes where I grew up. I give you Mexico City and boy can it shake. There is nothing like waking up in the morning on the floor because you have been thrown out of the bed from an earth quake (that only happened once). The strongest Earthquake I’ve been in was 6.5 on the Richter Scale.


SOMETHING PURPLE

I couldn’t think of anything in the house that is purple so then it hit me…why not use one of the pictures from the boy’s Colorado trip. I figure, what better purple than from America the Beautiful? So I give you…Purple Mountain’s Majesty.

So tell us…Did you play?

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * CrazyRN says:

    Wow..great spf! Especially the purple mountains! Isn’t Colorado just beautiful! In the past 18 months I’ve been able to experience bits of all 4 seasons in CO and it’s breathtaking every time I go back.

    I’m sure it’s terrifying to see your child seizing.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 11 months ago
  2. * Kelly says:

    Wow, those mountains really are purple! Beautiful! Love your photos – thanks for playing!

    I played of course!

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 11 months ago
  3. * Teena says:

    Seizures aren’t good 😦

    The mountains pix is amazing!

    Thanks for stopping by mine 🙂

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 11 months ago
  4. * Jana says:

    Wow, look at those mountains! Gorgeous!

    I played!

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 11 months ago
  5. * Caylynn says:

    Great photos! 🙂 Those seizures must have been scary – great that you knew what to do.

    Those mountains are beautiful. 🙂

    Thanks for stopping by and have a good weekend. 🙂

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 11 months ago
  6. * Mainline Mom says:

    Yeah shaking earthquakes would totally freak me out. I played.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 11 months ago
  7. * Mama C says:

    Dang! I’ll take the earthquake and climbing that beautiful mountain before seeing a loved one seize. Too scary for me.

    I played.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 11 months ago
  8. * Jon says:

    I love that “shake” pic!!! I have only been to Juarez, but I have always wanted to get down to Mexico City.

    Seizures are pretty scary…I have seen them a few time with others and it disturbed me!

    Great SPF…I wish I had mountains to look out on!

    I played this week as well, so come on by!!

    Have a great weekend!

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 11 months ago
  9. * Jon says:

    I am not sure why my last post had me as Jon, but it actually by Uzz!

    http://www.uzzman.com

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 11 months ago
  10. * Carrie says:

    How scary to have seen them both have seizures!

    I think that if I had an alarm that shook me out of bed, I could get up on time. Maybe I should move? 🙂

    Gorgeous shot of the mountains! What a great pick for purple!

    i played!

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 11 months ago
  11. * Fleur De Lisa says:

    I used to live in So. Cal. and never got used to the shaking!

    I love your mountain shot- I really miss them living in the “flat lands” as I do now.

    Happy SPF and thanks for stopping by mine.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 11 months ago
  12. * ~**Dawn**~ says:

    ::sigh:: i miss mountains.

    happy SPF! i played too. =)

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 11 months ago
  13. * Kami says:

    Gorgeous mountains!

    I would flip right out if one of my boys seized.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 11 months ago
  14. * Christie says:

    ok, I’m such a dork. I miss earthquakes… I know! I know!…

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 11 months ago
  15. * Southern Fried Girl says:

    Seizures are no bueno.

    That mountain pic is amazing.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 11 months ago


Leave a Reply

