Celebrating Women for the Real World



Stuff Portrait Friday!

TGIF! Friday just couldn’t get here fast enough. Kristine has given us another assignment for us to ponder. This week she has requested pictures of:

1. Something you have outgrown…

2. Something you have overcome…
3. I need help with…

WHAT I HAVE OUTGROWN
This was a tough one since I was determined that I was NOT going to post a piece of clothing that doesn’t fit anymore. Now that G2 is 17, and self sufficient I can’t complain too much about giving up time. So here in my attempt to have a healthier lifestyle, I grew up and gave up the ole Cap’n Crunch and switched to Raisin Bran. Not as fun and tasty, but…well you know.

WHAT I HAVE OVERCOME

I didn’t do it alone; I actually don’t think I could have. What did I overcome? The fear of failure. You see, the first time around I never finished school. The all-mighty dollar became more important so I took fewer and fewer classes and worked as much as I could (yes, I know….young and dumb).

When I decided that I wanted to go back and finish I had many obstacles in front of me: I was married, had a son, we were so tight financially that we squeaked when we walked, and I wanted to totally change my Major. Then there was the ole fear of failure, especially during the first semester trying to get back in the swing of things. I wanted to quit so many times but Big G wouldn’t let me. He was my sanity, my rock and my glue that held things together until I graduated.

I STILL NEED A LITTLE HELP WITH…

This one was so easy! Without a doubt I need a little help with my fear of heights. I took this picture from the condo we stayed in during the Blogger Blowout in Austin back in February and I think I stayed glued to the glass when I was out on the balcony.

So tell us…did you play?

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Spikey1 says:

    I havent been here in months and Im first!??? WOW! Hope all is well ! cheers.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 2 months ago
  2. * kim says:

    congrats on the degree! i have the outmost respect for everyone who goes back to college with a family and so many other things going on…

    happy SPF and of course i played, too 🙂

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 2 months ago
  3. * sannie says:

    Happy SPF! I am so glad you achieved your goal to get a degree. The longer you wait, the harder it gets, but this is fabulous!

    I am afraif of heights too.

    I played .

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 2 months ago
  4. * Army of Mom says:

    I have that same fear of heights!!! I feel for you. Good for you on the education and I almost took a picture of cereal, too. Very funny that we were thinking alike on that one.

    I played.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 2 months ago
  5. * Shell says:

    Thank God I’ve only been addicted to Cheerios all my life. Who woulda thought it was good for me?

    Girl…I don’t think I would have gone back to school if I had a family. It’s hard enough with a Boyfriend in another city. Is it bad that I saw your cap and gown pic and was REALLY jealous?

    I played too.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 2 months ago
  6. * Sheri & SuZan says:

    You will get there Shell! Hang in there!

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 2 months ago
  7. * Fleur De Lisa says:

    That is so great about you going back to school. It is really hard, but you did it. Hurray for you!

    I hear you with the fear of heights things, sometimes it bugs me so much and other times I hardly notice it. Just depends on the what and where I suppose.

    Happy SPF and thanks for stopping by mine too.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 2 months ago
  8. * Teena says:

    I haven’t had a bowl of Captain Crunch in years!!! My cereals are more sensible now … Mini Wheats or Bran Buds 🙂

    Congrats on your graduation! You should be proud!!

    I love heights!

    Thanks for stopping by mine 🙂

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 2 months ago
  9. * aka_Meritt says:

    Those are really good choices for the theme. Good job!

    Now… as for the cereal, honey even as a child I’d choose raisin bran over that particular kind of capt’n crunch. That is the kind that rips the roof of your mouth up when you eat it!!!!!!!! 🙂

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 2 months ago
  10. * Tammy says:

    I’m 30 years old and I REFUSE to give up my Fruit Loops and Frankenberry Cereal!!

    Yea for you for going back to school!!

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 2 months ago
  11. * Jen says:

    Congrats on your degree!

    Happy SPF! I played too.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 2 months ago
  12. * Christie says:

    🙂
    Happy spf!

    ahh it’s nice to be able to post a comment on your site again. That beta thing was driving me nuts lol

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 2 months ago
  13. * Carrie says:

    Great picks for the theme! Way to go on getting your degree!!! I’m with you on the fear of heights deal, even that picture makes me a bit queasy. 🙂

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 2 months ago
  14. * Kami says:

    Such a nice family photo!

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 2 months ago
  15. * Connie says:

    Oh I am afraid of heights too. Even looking at the picture kinda makes me nervous. You already saw mine. Thanks for commenting.

    You go on the schooling.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 2 months ago
  16. * Big Sky Girl says:

    I played — loved yours!

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 2 months ago
  17. * Lori says:

    I’m with ya on the cereal. Have a great weekend!

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 2 months ago
  18. * Jana says:

    I’m terrified of heights, too. Just looking at that picture makes my palms sweat.

    I played!

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 2 months ago
  19. * The Kept Woman says:

    But Captain Crunch is so yummy! Why don’t the really healthy cereals like Kashi taste good? It’s like eating tree bark.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 2 months ago
  20. * Suzanne R says:

    I never got into Capt’n Crunch and don’t eat much cereal now at all — an occasional snack bowl of Total, which may not be as healthy as they claim (I’m not sure). I don’t like heights much, either, although a couple of stories doesn’t bother me. Get me up too far and I’m clinging to the doorway, though! Thanks for stopping by!

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 2 months ago
  21. * Michelle says:

    I’ve been eating the Special K Yogurt cereal, it’s healthy and it tastes good.

    I keep saying I’m going to go to school, but I always have an excuse for why I can’t do it right now.

    Thanks for stopping by!!

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 2 months ago
  22. * Irish Church Lady :) says:

    Great share – thanks for diggin’ deep!

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 2 months ago


Leave a Reply

