Celebrating Women for the Real World



Texas High School Football!

Can you feel it?
Can you smell it?

Like every year it is back with a vengeance! Our boys had their first game Saturday night and it was a blast. They had their first game in our new Stadium (holy cow batman, place is huge); second, I don’t think they have the pressure that they did last year as our team is not even ranked this season (oh yeah…but we won; and beat the #15 ranked team 21-6).

I was so thrilled when Big G told me to set my camera to “sports”. The pictures came out pretty darn good. You see, last year I kept clicking but every single photo came out blurry. They were so bad that Big G kept telling me to stop Margarita consumption before games (cute).

So here we have our new Stadium! Now when they started construction of this facility I was not happy about it. You see at the time, our legistators couldn’t do their job because of partisan politics and could not agree on school funding (three special sessions held at the cost of taxpayers…oh about 2.6 million per session). So, my son ended up not being able to get text books in some of his classes during the year, but… our tax dollars were building this…yeah…I was pissed.

As it turns out, the plans for this facility are more than just High School Football. It is a revenue producer for the school district. The plan is to lease it out for concerts and other venues. I have also heard that if our community college (next door to the stadium) is able to change to a 4-year college, then they also would lease the stadium for their football games, etc.

This is Sheri’s son M (#50) getting a drink after a job well done!

Here is my son G2 (#60). He shot up over the summer and is now probably the thinnist lineman. Funny is we can always spot him among the masses. See how he is “hanging on his shoulder pads?” He has been doing that since 4th grade.

Takin’ care of business!

BFND!

Go Bobcats!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * momsgoneloony says:

    Wow…nice stadium…things sure are bigger in Texas..LOL

    | Reply Posted 11 years ago
  2. * aka_Meritt - www.coffeetalking.blogspot.com says:

    My comment WAS going to be; OMG that is for a HIGH SCHOOL!??????

    … but you answered that one. 🙂

    We got a new football field this year too that everyone is oh-so-happy about. However, now, seeing yours, suddenly I don’t feel like posting about it. LOL.

    | Reply Posted 11 years ago
  3. * Karen says:

    Nice stadium. My son is doing without a locker this year. His school is only 5 years old. But, hey, let’s cram a few more Katrina kids in there.

    | Reply Posted 11 years ago
  4. * Cat says:

    Wow, what an awesome Stadium!

    I can’t wait to go watch football this year. I just wish my son was playing! grr

    Take care!

    | Reply Posted 11 years ago
  5. * Christie says:

    wow
    that a HS football stadium?????????????

    | Reply Posted 11 years ago
  6. * Kami says:

    Eat em up, Cats!

    | Reply Posted 11 years ago
  7. * Nancy says:

    That’s not a stadium, it’s a shrine…lol

    Us Texans take our football serious-like.

    Yee Gads, I hope they’re able to book a bunch a concerts, ’cause it’s gonna take a buncha money to pay for that.

    Y’all. I live not far from there. It is even larger in real life.

    | Reply Posted 11 years ago
  8. * The Kept Woman says:

    It’s funny because having grown up in the Midwest but also having spent time in the TX football lifestyle (my ex was a coach) I can imagine how people from other parts of the country would be like WTF?

    They think that’s big they ought to see the homecoming mums…which I KNOW you guys will share when the time comes!

    | Reply Posted 11 years ago
  9. * Nicole says:

    Dude- I have watched them build that from the ground up on BC!! It looks totally awesome inside!!!!

    | Reply Posted 11 years ago
  10. * Judy says:

    WOW – Cy Fair got a new stadium? That looks awesome!

    I really miss my Houston area football…someday I’ll try to break into our area’s football, perhaps when the boys are older, but after playing in the band in most stadiums in Houston, there was just something about being THERE for a football game.

    Seriously, that stadium – WOW!

    | Reply Posted 11 years ago
  11. * Mama C says:

    Dang! That place looks awesome. You are a great mom to attend the games. My mama never saw me perform in band and ….anyway…you are doing right.

    Go bobcats!

    | Reply Posted 11 years ago


Leave a Reply

