Celebrating Women for the Real World



Summer Time, Summer Time, Sum, Sum, Summertime!

Summer time has always been one of my favorite seasons. I look forward to lazy days, fresh brewed iced tea, fire flies, swimming, barbecues, baseball, etc. Then one day I had children and reality set in.

Why does that matter? Yes, there are lazy days-for them! They love iced tea-after I brew it. Swimming……nope, haven’t even had my swim suit on this year. Been too busy driving kids from here to there. Barbecues-that translates to me going to the store to buy the food, prep the food, usually cooking the food, then cleaning up after. Baseball-yeah, it’s $18 a head to get into the game. Multiply that by 5 then factor in gas, parking, food (for 3 teenagers). Not going to happen this year. Fire Flies-I grew up in PA and we used to catch fire flies and watch them light up in our hands. Hours of entertainment. I don’t think I’ve ever seen any in Houston.

I’m not complaining, merely pondering. I’m very blessed to have kids to take care of. I wonder though what memories my kids will have when they are adults and perhaps have kids of their own. I was thinking that our kids really aren’t “lazy” and enjoying the summer the way we did. It seems like they get out of school and before you know it we’re sending them off to at least 2 camps, Grandma’s house, day camps, etc. All of this is fun, but when I hear the stress in every one’s voice talking about all they need to do to get ready for each of these adventures, it makes me wonder if the kids/families are really enjoying themselves, and each other.

What kind of fond memories do you have of your childhood summers and what are you doing with your kids this summer? We’d love to know.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * aka_Meritt - www.coffeetalking.blogspot.com says:

    If the city sprays for mosquitos… that’s what kills off the fireflies. šŸ˜¦

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 4 months ago
  2. * speckledpup says:

    I remember how unstructured the summers were. pure bliss. I didn’t even wear shoes. Mom would carry a pair of flip flops in the car and if she had to run to town for something she would come and find me wherever I had went on my bike and off we’d go.

    We try to do the same for our kids. We decided long ago…no baseball, no soccer, nothing during the summer. Sure we’ve got ripped by people who want our really athletically gifted kids on their teams…they can bite me. Last Saturday, the 20 year old, the 16 year old the 10 year old and I were at the pool. We played for 4 hours. At one point Big Boy lays down on a chaise next to me and says, God I love summer! Yup, he understands, we gotta have some relaxation. Oh and oreos. Very important that you always have oreos.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 4 months ago
  3. * Kami says:

    Hmmm, well, ever since we got the “park” up, all I’ve been is the “swing pusher.” We love to hang out in the backyard, but it is SO. DAMN. HOT. We’ll travel to Miami next month.

    I remember going to Ohio to see family in the summers. I got to stay with my aunt and uncle (actually greats) on their house boats on the Ohio River. I spent entire days on the river bank.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 4 months ago
  4. * Carrie says:

    We used to spend weeks down in Port Aransas at my granddad’s place. Just being lazy either by the pool, down at the beach or out on the boat. We’d stay up late watching old movies and tv shows with my step grandma or playing cards. It was always so much fun and so relaxing. šŸ™‚

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 4 months ago
  5. * The Kept Woman says:

    We actually have some fireflies up here but yeah, I think they were like outlawed in Houston.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 4 months ago
  6. * Greg - Cowboy in the Jungle says:

    WOW!!! Love the new look and feel!

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 4 months ago


Leave a Reply

