Celebrating Women for the Real World



OK…Dry Out Already!

I really want to take advantage this summer and do something with our courtyard and actually learn something about gardening. We are even going to put in a water feature, but first…it needs to STOP RAINING!

I have learned one very important lesson early on. As you see here, I planted some Mexican Heather (gosh I even knew what it was called ). What I didn’t know at the time is to water it down after I prepared the soil. It has now been raining everyday and every night (not quite 40 days/nights, but it feels like it) and my Mexican Heather is submerged! So rule #1; water down the soil to make sure that it is compacted.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

I’m looking forward to the water feature. Big G finally picked out an urn that he liked (I wasn’t as picky and would have been happy as a lark with a kit of some kind). So this will be the fountain and we have all the fixins but again…it needs to STOP RAINING!


I also bought these little pretties. I have no idea what they are but I liked them. I have an area picked out but I have to prepare the soil because there is a lot of clay in it. I have even been saving up my Starbucks coffee grounds to mix in the soil, but first…it needs to STOP RAINING!

Send dry thoughts please.

That is all.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * aka_Meritt - www.coffeetalking.blogspot.com says:

    Up here we have been having drought-weather. Dry dry dry. Grass and lawns are shrivelled up and half of my yard blew away. 😉

    I’ll trade ya!

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 3 months ago
  2. * Karen says:

    Fortunately Mexican heather is very hearty stuff. We have some and I haven’t even killed it so that’s saying something! Saw some sun yesterday. Hope more comes today.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 3 months ago
  3. * Carrie says:

    You put coffee grounds in the soil? I had no idea. Those last ones are purty!

    Yes, it does need to stop raining.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 3 months ago
  4. * Teena says:

    Very pretty! We have a small terrace and the first couple of years I bought lots of hanging plants. But then would forget to water them. So they would be dead halfway through the summer. Needless to say, I don’t buy any anymore. So I will live vicariously through yours 🙂

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 3 months ago
  5. * Shell says:

    Coffee grounds make the soil acidic so use them sparingly. Good for azaleas. Roses like them too.

    Mexican heather grows like crazy here. When it gets brown in the winter leave them in the ground untrimmed. When you start seeing little green sprouts in the spring, trim off the dead stuff. They will literally take over that corner.

    I think you have impatients. Give them lots of sun and water. I screw them up because my balcony doesn’t get full sun so I always end up with non flowering juicy stemmed bushes.

    I’m jealous. I can’t grow anything on my balcony.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 3 months ago
  6. * Kami says:

    Oh, Tammy is going to call you out for calling that Heather a Mexican. I know this from experience.

    Thanks for sending us that bit of rain yesterday!

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 3 months ago
  7. * Mama C says:

    I planted some flower seeds from the Dollar Store and spent a good afternoon digging up the flower bed and nothing sprouted. Dud seeds for a dollar. I envy your green thumb.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 3 months ago
  8. * Tammy says:

    Yes. Was wondering why Heather has to be called a Mexican. Can’t see be a Mexican American? 🙂

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 3 months ago
  9. * Nancy says:

    Not to worry, the Mexican Heather is almost impossible to kill. Sure greens up purty tho, and keeps right on blooming no matter what.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 3 months ago


Leave a Reply

