Celebrating Women for the Real World



Stuff Portrait Friday…Uh huh, uh huh!

I’m feeling a little funky, uh huh, uh huh! And, I’m not even drinking. I think it’s cause it is….FRIDAY!! That means…..it’s time for STUFF PORTRAIT FRIDAY!

The lovely and talented Kristine at Random & Odd is off doing “wedding stuff”, so the wonderful and wacky Shaun has so graciously filled in and came up with this week’s theme. Wow, he made up a logo and everything! Check it out!

This weeks assignment is to find:

1. Something with a story behind it. Photograph something that has a story behind it. And yes, you might have to actually write a little bit on this one. Good, sad, funny, made-up….does it really matter? It IS the Internet. Be creative.

There is a VERY sweet story behind this. I’m kind of PMS’ing and in a sentimental kind of mood. Anyway, this is a vase of flowers made by my youngest son for me for Mother’s Day when he was in first grade. He hid it in his back pack and snuck it to my room to give to me in private so that his brother and sister wouldn’t make fun of him. I keep these in my bedroom and every time I look at them I get those “mommy feelings”. You know, the feeling that your kids are the absolute best in the world! It’s not just the flowers, but the love he put into them. The paper is quite faded now, but he picked colors that he thought were my favorites. There was a cute poem that went with it, but it must be packed some where.

2. A Random and Odd photo. Pick anything. A picture you’ve taken, one that you’ve found on the net. Doesn’t matter. I’m making the rules, so don’t tell me what your usual blogger tells you to do! For this picture, the reader on your blog needs to write a story or caption for your picture, so get something unique.

I just can’t wait to read what you all have come up with for this picture. I really wish I could take the credit for this pic, but all credit must go to my sister. She snapped it during one of our….”adventures”! Always much excitement when she visits Houston.

3. In keeping with the recurring wedding theme, a photo of something borrowed. This is pretty self-explanatory.

See the really cool rug under the coffee table? SuZan is letting me borrow it until our house sells. She’s got this eye for detail. I was about to purchase this hideous piece of…I don’t know quite what you would call it. She saved the day and let me borrow her rug that is usually in her foyer. It would be just too bad if the movers accidentally uh, pack it or something when we move!

So there you have it! My contribution to Stuff Portrait Friday. Anyone and everyone is welcome to play. If you do, please leave a note in my comments so I can come check you out!

Until next time…. SEE YA!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Kami says:

    Ooooh, I love that rug. It would be such a shame if you forgot to return it.

    I can’t even figure out what that second pic is! Are my eyes broken? It looks like frog boobs.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 1 month ago
  2. * Teena says:

    What a sweet story! And ya never know … the movers might accidentally load the rug into the van. Just don’t invite SuZan over for a visit after that!

    I played too 🙂

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 1 month ago
  3. * Sheri & SuZan says:

    Hey! I will know where you live (especially since I’m going with you to look at houses).

    Bwahahahaha

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 1 month ago
  4. * Jana says:

    My caption: Run for your life! It’s The BLOB!

    I played!

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 1 month ago
  5. * A Slice of Life says:

    …and yet another sighting of the Lock Ness Monster’s cousin…

    I can’t figure out what that thing is! I love the sweet, sweet flowers from your son. I know exactly what those feelings are. 🙂

    I played!
    http://susansmusings.wordpress.com

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 1 month ago
  6. * Southern Fried Girl says:

    Yeah, I’d have to be snagging that rug. I like it.

    I played.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 1 month ago
  7. * aka_Meritt - www.coffeetalking.blogspot.com says:

    … and SuZan thinks I’m JOKING when I say I need her to come decorate my house?????

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 1 month ago
  8. * Lori says:

    I can’t think of a caption other than “What the hell IS that?”

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 1 month ago
  9. * Shell says:

    If the movers don’t take the rug then maybe I will come over and, uh, move it for her! Yeah…I’ll move it right into my apartment for safe keeping.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 1 month ago
  10. * Honeysuckle says:

    Hmm, looks like a frog to me.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 1 month ago
  11. * Torie says:

    1. I remember making flowers like that for my mom in school. I always loved that she would keep them and act like it was better than anything else she had ever gotten.
    2. What the heck is that? It’s in the water. It’s not a frog…hmm…I think I know…
    3. I really like that rug. Very pretty.

    I played

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 1 month ago
  12. * Suzanne R says:

    What a wonderful story on the flowers your son made you!

    I have no clue as to a caption — too scared here! LOL!

    Beautiful rug — a great friend!

    I played.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 1 month ago
  13. * Uzz says:

    Caption: “Siamese twins Ernest and Jeff waited on the shore to see if they would be chosen to be the first sharks to have a groundbreaking surgery to seperate them.”

    Also…I LOVE the story about the flowers…awesome!

    I played as well!!!

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 1 month ago
  14. * CameraDawktor says:

    All I can think of is “Alfred Hitchcock meets Jonah and the Whale….”

    You already know it but I played too.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 1 month ago
  15. * Hag in the jag says:

    My Caption: “Oh shit, i knew I should have gotten out of the birdbath before January” Said the wide-mouthed frog.
    Love the paper flowers.

    I played

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 1 month ago
  16. * Charlotte in Pa says:

    The story of the paper flowers is sooo sweet! The best gifts are the ones that someone puts thought into.

    My caption: This water is awfully hot… HEY! What are you doing to my legs?!?

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 1 month ago
  17. * michele says:

    I played!

    Caption: This is what happens when sharks innermarry.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 1 month ago
  18. * Michelle says:

    Lovin the rug
    Caption : *Richard Attenbourough voice over* The unusual animal comes to the surface to breathe and look around..

    Happy SPF

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 1 month ago
  19. * The Kept Woman says:

    Dang it…I totally didn’t follow directons for the something odd picture on my site.

    This surprises no one, I’m sure.

    Caption: And as he submerged himself into the fountain again he was quite sure that no one had noticed his casual observances.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 1 month ago
  20. * Nancy says:

    Hey, both’a’ya’ll. My offer to come help supervise your landscaping is still good.

    I love watching someone else do the heavy lifting.

    bwuuahhhhahah

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 1 month ago


Leave a Reply

