Celebrating Women for the Real World



Stuff Portrait Friday!


We can tell that Kristine over at Random & Odd is getting wedding fever as her wedding date rapidly approaches. Her assignment seems to be leaning more and more toward this direction, but since SPF is all up to interpretation…she’s going to have to wait.

This weeks assignment:

1. Your Puzzle

2. Your Best (Your best what? YOU DECIDE!!)

3. Something “Old” (the weeks following will have a part of the wedding theme; something old, something new, something borrowed, something blue)

YOUR PUZZLE
.
My greatest puzzle would be my 17 year old son. He is a great kid, but at times I want to thump him on the head. Sometimes, he is so mature and when people come up to me and tell me he is a fine young man, it makes me so proud. Other times, when I ask him to do something it seems he will do the crapiest job he can (I guess so that I won’t ask him again). His philosophy: Why do today, what you can put off until tomorrow.

YOUR BEST


Hmmmmm this one is all up to interpretation. I was going to post a picture of Big G, because he brings out the best in me, but he really doesn’t like to see his mug plastered on the internet. So instead, here is a result of a “Martha Moment”. The walls in my hallway are my first attempt of a Venetian plaster look. I hated the old sand finish on the walls so I plastered them with joint compound, painted and then rag glazed them. I do like this look much better (unfortunately, the photo doesn’t do it justice).

SOMETHING OLD


I love this piece we have in the dining room because I enjoy repurposing things. This was a TV/stereo that belonged to Big G’s grandparents. We now use it as a server but it still is a work in progress (as is my whole house…lol). Eventually the speakers will be gutted and we will build a drawer in their place, giving us much needed extra storage.

Did you play? Did ya?

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Kami says:

    Oh your puzzle, but he’s SOOOO CUTE!

    Dude, I love the pics. I want to do that over my couch.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 1 month ago
  2. * Teena says:

    Great pix! Please come over and do our walls too, okay??

    I played 🙂

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 1 month ago
  3. * Football Widow says:

    You can come work on my house anytime!

    Gotta love teenagers. Great puzzle.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 1 month ago
  4. * Juliabohemian says:

    when you thump him on the head, does it sound hollow? If so, he’s ripe.

    I played.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 1 month ago
  5. * Candy says:

    17… omg… 17… my children will not make it to 17… I won’t let them… I’m gonna go stack books on their heads right NOW.

    Great walls and antique!

    I played, of course.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 1 month ago
  6. * kim says:

    you’re gonna figure out that puzzle eventually. he probably is a puzzle to himself a lot of times 😉

    happy SPF and i played, too.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 1 month ago
  7. * Fleur De Lisa says:

    I hear you on not understanding teenage boys- I have one myself, and he’s just entering the teens!

    I LOVE what you did to your wall. Want to come do mine next? 😉

    Happy SPF and thanks for stopping by mine earlier.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 1 month ago
  8. * aka_Meritt - www.coffeetalking.blogspot.com says:

    I’m glad to see your wall… I’ve thought about doing the plastering and glazing thing but never have. (Not going to in this particular house either since it doesn’t fit in the whole ‘feel’ of it). But I love yours!!!!

    As for the puzzle… yeah, sons are puzzles alright. FULL agreement there.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 1 month ago
  9. * Christie says:

    happy spf!
    I played (obviously, seeing as how you already commented lol).

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 1 month ago
  10. * Hag in the jag says:

    Yeah, Ditto on The Sons.
    You’ll see mine on my SPF too.
    The walls are gorgeous. I’ve done it twice and you really can’t make a mistake, they look great.
    How nice that you have a family heirloom.
    I played. Happy SPF

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 1 month ago
  11. * Gracie says:

    What a neat idea for the TV/Stereo!

    I love Venetian glazing! It is so pretty and even though the photo doesn’t do it justice, it does look like you did a good job.

    And I agree about the “son thumping” moments. My sixteen year old has given me fits. …and I have 2 more to go through before I’m done!

    🙂

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 1 month ago
  12. * ~**Dawn**~ says:

    your walls look great. they remind me of the look of parchment! and my grandparents had an old television cabinet like that (only half the size though) that they used as a server in their dining room–that photo brought back some great memories for me. =)

    thanks for stopping by my blog this morning. =) happy SPF!

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 1 month ago
  13. * Honeysuckle says:

    Oooh, love the wall. I have never done the venetian plaster technique, but I have done some ragging with paint (it was a disaster).

    Thanks for visiting earlier.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 1 month ago
  14. * Tammy says:

    Haven’t you heard the phrase “Never do a crappy job well?” Cleary your son has and he lives by it. As does my 6 year old! 🙂

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 1 month ago
  15. * Lee says:

    I impressed with your faux finished walls…it always sounds so easy…cool buffet server/tv cabinet too 🙂

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 1 month ago
  16. * Southern Fried Girl says:

    I love that server.

    Does anyone understand teenagers???

    Happy SPF!

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 1 month ago
  17. * Jana says:

    Ooo, I love your wall! Great job!

    I played!

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 1 month ago
  18. * Carrie says:

    Great puzzle pick! I don’t know if there is anything more puzzling than a teenagers mind! 🙂

    Love the pictures!!!

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 1 month ago
  19. * The Kept Woman says:

    Love your Venitian plaster look, it’s so Doug Wilson!! Very excellent!

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 1 month ago
  20. * Kristine says:

    The walls look really great! I’d never have the patience to try a look like that!

    I played this week!

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 1 month ago
  21. * Mainline Mom says:

    I have an old stereo cabinet just like that I now use as a liquor storage/server in my dining room. It needs to have the speakers replaced too.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 1 month ago
  22. * Uzz says:

    Love that “old” pic! Trust me about the kids thing…it seems a lot of people are puzzled by them:-)

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 1 month ago
  23. * CameraDawktor says:

    Good job on the venetial plaster, that’s awesome!

    I played too.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 1 month ago
  24. * Gary says:

    No mom, its wrong. My philosophy is Why do it now when you can do it later! haha

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 1 month ago
  25. * Sheri & SuZan says:

    LOL….the above comment is my 17 year old puzzle!

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 1 month ago
  26. * MMC says:

    I love your re-purposed cabinet.

    Hope you have a great weekend.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 1 month ago
  27. * Suzanne R says:

    Sounds like you have 17-year-old psychology pretty well figured out. 😉 The venetian plaster is great! Neat SPF!

    I played.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 1 month ago
  28. * A Slice of Life says:

    Your 17 year old sounds just like my 12 year old! Does that mean it doesn’t get any better??? LOL

    Happy SPF!

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 1 month ago
  29. * Shna says:

    Great SPF, I have that “17 year old son” to look forward too.

    I’m scared.

    🙂

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 1 month ago
  30. * Mama C says:

    Great SPF.

    Please come paint my walls when you get a chance. They look awesome to me.

    Love the old photo. I didn’t play. I’ve been sick.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 1 month ago
  31. * Nicole says:

    I love your walls! I want to do that in my bathroom but have been afraid~! Did it take a long time?

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 1 month ago


Leave a Reply

