Celebrating Women for the Real World



Stuff Portrait Friday!

A P – E R – T U R E
1. An opening, such as a hole, gap, or slit.

2. a) A usually adjustable opening in an optical instrument, such as a camera or telescope, that limits the amount of light passing through a lens or onto a mirror.
b) The diameter of such an opening, often expressed as an f-number.
c) The diameter of the objective of a telescope.

The lovely Kristine over at Random & Odd is getting creative again. Since she knows that we are weirdos, she is probably hesitant as to what we will post.

OUR ASSIGNMENT (should we choose to accept):

1. A wide open space.
2. Brightness
3. In the dark

A WIDE OPEN SPACE

My guys are gone this week and hubby has my camera, but I do have backups. This is a picture of Big G. G2 took this picture and it is one of my favorites. They were camping up in the mountains in Colorado and what better place for ‘a wide open space’.

BRIGHTNESS

The brightness is the snow. They found snow while hiking and had to play in it. G2 is the one that just threw the snowball (the Texas kid in the Michigan cap…lol). This was the first time that he had ever seen the white stuff so he was thrilled. The last time it snowed in Houston, we were in East Texas (G2 was pissed we missed it).

IN THE DARK

Now what is a camping trip without the campfire! I am such a pyro that I just love a campfire and how the flames dance ‘in the dark’.

Did you play? Did ya?

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Kami says:

    I LOVE the Colorado pictures!!!

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 5 months ago
  2. * Holly says:

    cool spf. i totally have to get back into that. i enjoyed it.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 5 months ago
  3. * Mama C says:

    Love. Love. Love the camping theme ya got going on.

    Earth, wind (throwing a snowball) and fire!

    I played.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 5 months ago
  4. * Karen says:

    Great camping shots! I know what you mean about the snow thing. I made a special trip to Montana with my son when he was in kindergarten – during the Mardi Gras week off from school – to visit my sister so he could see snow and mountains. He has a blast in the stuff.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 5 months ago
  5. * Dy says:

    Purty 🙂 I’m with ya on the pyro thing, too.

    I played!

    Moved, too, after a week of blogger frustration.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 5 months ago
  6. * Charlotte in Pa says:

    Great SPF! I love it when people have a theme. 🙂 The fire picture is very cool. I felt hot just looking at it!

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 5 months ago
  7. * Gracie says:

    I love a good fire too!!

    Beautiful mountain shot. I love Colorado; and the snow in the higher elevations is a real treat!

    I played 🙂

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 5 months ago
  8. * Fleur De Lisa says:

    I love the campfire picture- there isn’t anything better than a good fire!

    Happy SPF and I played

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 5 months ago
  9. * Teena says:

    Luv the pix! We had a similar experience in Whistler last summer. We went to the top of one of the mountains in shorts and sandals (cuz it was summer) and discovered there was still snow!

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 5 months ago
  10. * Teena says:

    I forgot to say that I played too 🙂

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 5 months ago
  11. * Southern Fried Girl says:

    Oh I love campfires too. 🙂

    Happy SPF!

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 5 months ago
  12. * Army of Mom says:

    I love the trip photos! And, nope, we don’t get too much snow in Texas. Looks like a fun vacation!

    Thanks for coming by.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 5 months ago
  13. * Mainline Mom says:

    Cool pics. I’m jealous of your hiking trip. I played.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 5 months ago
  14. * Jana says:

    Beautiful! I’ve never been to Colorado. I’ll have to make it there one of these days.

    I played!

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 5 months ago
  15. * Lee says:

    those are great pictures…I can’t even imagine what being on one of those mountains must be like….happy SPF ladies, I played 🙂

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 5 months ago
  16. * Vajana says:

    ooh I just LOVE your pictures! Campfires are just the greatest. happy spf, thanks for stopping by!

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 5 months ago
  17. * Lazy Lightning says:

    Great pictures! Make me feel like hiking!

    I played too

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 5 months ago
  18. * Honeysuckle says:

    Wow! Great shots, all of them. Can’t decide on my favorite though.

    Thanks for visiting.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 5 months ago
  19. * Christie says:

    great spf!
    I played

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 5 months ago
  20. * Irish Church Lady :) says:

    Love the mountains! Snow – I see enough of that, tqvm!

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 5 months ago
  21. * Shna says:

    Your pics are great! I’ve seen more than my fair share of snow up here in the Great White North 😉

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 5 months ago
  22. * Di says:

    I love the mountains.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 5 months ago
  23. * hemlock says:

    YAY!! Pyro’s unite!!!

    Love your mountain photos. The mountains are special. I love them. J and I went to Jasper, Alberta two years ago and found snow on one of the mountains. So odd when it’s July, you know?

    Thanks for dropping by!

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 5 months ago
  24. * CrazyRN says:

    Ohh..love your Colorado pic! I loved being in CO, it is so pretty there!

    Happy SPF!!

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 5 months ago
  25. * Lori says:

    Great pics! I love campfires too.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 5 months ago
  26. * Jennifer says:

    That campfire makes me want s’mores! I played!

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 5 months ago
  27. * Random and Odd says:

    Man, just seeing your pictures makes me want to go camping.

    I’m glad you played!!

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 5 months ago
  28. * Caroline says:

    Those are some beautiful mountains. Great theme SPF!

    I played!.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 5 months ago
  29. * zerodoll says:

    yay fire! i want smores too!

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 5 months ago
  30. * Timestep says:

    way cool pics (tell your son to come to Michigan, we get lots of snow in my area of it (200 inches).

    I played.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 5 months ago
  31. * jayfish says:

    excellent pics! it’s been quite a while since i went out in the wilderness…

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 5 months ago
  32. * Suzanne R says:

    Love your pics! Mountain vistas like that leave me weak in the knees. Roaring campfires make me think of roasting marshmallows as a kid, too. Thanks for commenting on my SPF!

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 5 months ago
  33. * The Kept Woman says:

    Love the fire picture…there’s something about those red, hot coals!!!

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 5 months ago
  34. * A Slice of Life says:

    I love seeing those boys playing in the snow in shorts. What a fun surprise for them.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 5 months ago
  35. * Charmed1 says:

    Awesome PIctures! I played too!!

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 5 months ago
  36. * Candy says:

    Love the fire! 🙂

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 5 months ago
  37. * aka_Meritt - www.coffeetalking.blogspot.com says:

    I can’t help it… I’ve got to say it…

    every time I look at the snow photo my stomach lurches into my throat. I keep thinking he’s going to FALL!

    (and yet every time I look, he is still there and obviously hasn’t).

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 5 months ago
  38. * Hag in the jag says:

    Gorgeous photos. The mountains, snow, campfire, all of them.
    Sorry I’m checking in so late.
    I played

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 5 months ago
  39. * ~**Dawn**~ says:

    wow! that wide open space is breath taking!

    just making my rounds on last week’s SPF before this week’s gets posted. i was away last weekend & have some catching up to do…

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 5 months ago


Leave a Reply

