Celebrating Women for the Real World



The Honeymoon is Pretty Cool!

A follow up to “The teenager turned loose on the town”.
***A positive twist***
It has been a couple of weeks now since we added G2 to the insurance so that he can drive solo. So far (and I know we are again on borrowed time) it actually has been very helpful to me. He has run every errand that I have asked him, I don’t have to be a chauffer, and he has come home 30 to 45 minutes before curfew every single time he has gone out in the evening.

Who is this teenager living with me? What did you do to my son?

I’m still having difficulties coping with him out driving at night. Yes I stay calm and cool and tell him to be careful; but as soon as he drives away, I just want to go hurl.

Now before you think that everything is all bliss, this past weekend I was stuck at home both days. Big G had business he had to attend to and G2 filled his dance card from sun up to sun down both Saturday and Sunday. Now granted, I needed to stay home and attack the dastardly laundry (who would have ever thought that three people could accumulate so many dirty clothes); clean the house; attack the kitchen; take a few mental breaks; and NOT go out and spend money.

So we still have to work out some kinks regarding the car-share, but all in all this transition has been very nice. Of course being such a control freak with time on my hands that I’m not used to having, I have been considering…

This

Or
This

Would I be wrong?
Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * aka_Meritt - www.coffeetalking.blogspot.com says:

    ROTFL…

    Where we live kids can drive alone at 14 if it is to school and/or sports and activities – and they get a school permit. BabyGirl has her permit and is taking drivers ed this summer to get her school permit. What does this mean for me?

    That as of August, I’ll be YOU – watching my baby drive away in a big old car without ME next to her.

    Gulp.

    Still… I wouldn’t invest in the GPS tracker. Looks like your kiddo is being pretty darn mature about the whole thing. 😉

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 3 months ago
  2. * Beth says:

    I wouldn’t, unless he gives you reason to distrust him. And definatly tell him first if you do get it.

    But then again, my biggest kid problem right now is getting #1 to learn all his letters…ask me again in 10 years 😉

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 3 months ago
  3. * Spikey1 says:

    We are still working on the alphabet… driving… sheesh.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 3 months ago
  4. * Carrie says:

    Hmmm, I actually think those sound great for parents with kids who might be up to no good.

    Of course, your son does seem to be a very responsible young man – he’s the Eagle Scout right? I say that unless he gives you cause for concern that you should hold off. The whole ‘trust’ issue. If he were a wild rebellious teen I could see that as a good precaution against him getting himself hurt, but he seems to be on the straight and narrow.

    I’m just glad they didn’t have those when I was a teen. I soooo would never have been allowed to drive! 🙂

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 3 months ago
  5. * TBG says:

    I would not buy it unless he gives you a reason too! Turst is a good thing to have, you did raise him, so trust you did a fabulous job.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 3 months ago
  6. * Suz says:

    Thats wonderful that he has been so good with the car.

    The thought of both of those trackers have crossed my mind. My son should be out on the road by July :/ I’ll be breathing in a bag! My daughter is next :/

    Hugs Suz

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 3 months ago
  7. * Mama C says:

    I would want this for my peace of mind. So devious that I am, I would put it under the dash. Good luck with deciding what to do.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 3 months ago
  8. * Candy says:

    Can you hire a private eye? I’m sure he’s a good kid and all, but driving… I’m with Beth, my biggest problem is getting used to the idea that my kid is going to start kindergarten next year… driving?!?!?!!?

    Seriously though, I probably wouldn’t get it. I *HOPE* to be that cool trusting mom with the good kids.

    … that’s the plan anyway… 😉

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 3 months ago
  9. * Lucky Lum says:

    Wait til the first time you catch him doing something wrong or lying, then you have great excuse/reason to get it!

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 3 months ago
  10. * Cat says:

    I don’t think I would really want to know. LOL

    they are great ideas though.

    Take care!

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 3 months ago


Leave a Reply

