Celebrating Women for the Real World



If you aren’t sure about having more kids…..

I’ll lend you a teenager…..or THREE!

If I would have known what the teenage years would bring, I would NOT have had three kids so close together. My goodness. Just when I think I have things figured out…

Let me give you an example.

1) 15 year old daughter involved in her first “boyfriend” experience. She’s been dating said boyfriend since December 2nd. I said over and over “you are spending too much time together”, to which the reply was “stay out of my relationship. I can handle it!” Well, said boyfriend got on daughter’s nerve and it hasn’t been pretty around here. Now I have one sad puppy dog boyfriend calling and one pouty teenage daughter who is pretty sure I know nothing and was brought into this world by aliens.

2) 17 year old son who thinks he knows everything. It’s my fault that there is not a shiny new car in the driveway for him along with hundred dollar bills for his weekend pleasure. You know “all of the other kids have a car and their parents give them like $300 every weekend.” I asked him if those parents were adopting! He didn’t see the humor in that and he also thinks the mother ship brought me to this planet and threw me out of the window just so that I could ruin his life.

3) 12 (almost 13) year old. Ah, the tween years. Not a kid, not a teenager. He is quite ill with some kind of virus (read-antibiotics won’t help). His brother makes fun of him for wanting his mom to comfort him. He doesn’t understand that his brother and sister, although they act like their family is diseased, still love us, but won’t admit it. He also is having a major peer pressure dilemma at school. I promised I wouldn’t talk about it, so I won’t. But when all is over and the shit has hit the fan, I will be sharing. Hold on to your hats, ladies. This goes back to the hour long conversation he had with my daughter back in February. You know the one. The one know one talks about! He is my only child who is unsure if the aliens brought me, but I think he secretly checks for horns whenever possible.

How do I deal with this? Wine, lot’s and lot’s of wine! Oh, and blogging, of course! So, if the stork is knocking on your door-use the dead bolt! At least for three or four more years!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Candy says:

    uhhhh….

    *looks at 3 and 5 year old and decides to keep them in a box… a small box*

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 3 months ago
  2. * Susanne says:

    I couldn’t have said it any better!! I have 3… and almost 20 yr old, an almost 18 yr old and an almost 10 year old… what was I thinking?!?!?! Though, the 20 and 10 yr. olds are in decent places atm, the 18 yr. old (girl) is gonna drive me right off the deep end! She is the one who can’t understand why WE dont have a money tree in our backyard…

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 3 months ago
  3. * Karen says:

    Oh dear, my only child, the 16 year old, is all I can handle. I’m feeling for you, girlfriend.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 3 months ago
  4. * Spikey1 says:

    Talk to you in 10 years!

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 3 months ago
  5. * Carrie says:

    Oh, the days of seemingly being the only one without money for the weekend. My parents had a brilliant solution – I got a job. πŸ™‚ I ended up doing the half day school/ half day business co-op program senior year and for a 17/18 year old, I was rolling in the dough. πŸ™‚

    I feel for you with the daughter/boyfriend situation. Not much can be done about that, and yes, you must have been brought from another planet, if you can’t understand the drama of a teenage relationship. hee-hee

    Sorry the youngest is sick and having troubles. Hope everything works out for the best!

    I do think wine sounds like a good answer.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 3 months ago
  6. * MommyMe says:

    You are a mom, you could’t possibly know anything sheesh. My mom had a plaque that hung on the wall, “Hire a teenager while they still know everything”

    Man, this parenting thing just gets more and more scary.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 3 months ago
  7. * Sleeping Mommy says:

    Um, You are scaring me. SERIOUSLY.

    My three are 19 months apart. Can I reserve my slot at the assylum now?

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 3 months ago
  8. * TBG says:

    oh no I remember torturing my mother through those years. YIKES there were 5 of us. 2 in 16 months and then 10 years later 3 in 3 years.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 3 months ago
  9. * aka_Meritt - www.coffeetalking.blogspot.com says:

    I’m smiling. πŸ™‚ Loving every minute of it.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 3 months ago
  10. * Mama C says:

    Why do I read this blog? Are you trying to scare me…it is working!

    Must start digging now for that future wine cellar.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 3 months ago
  11. * Jennifer says:

    But I bet you wouldn’t trade them for anything!

    πŸ™‚ Remind me I said that in about 12 years πŸ˜‰

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 3 months ago
  12. * Suz says:

    Hmmm this all sounds very familiar to me :-), pass that wine this way!

    ROFL @ #2 and asking him if his friends family’s are adopting.

    Hugs Suz

    P.S. Love the new look!

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 3 months ago
  13. * Sheri & SuZan says:

    LOL! Yes, I love my kids so much! I really can’t imagine what life would be like without them. I guess I’m just astounded at how they change and grow! Since my parents have both passed away (my mom died when I was 19 and my dad when I was 26) I don’t have anyone to remind me what I was like at the age.

    It’s like when you’re a new mother and you bring your baby home and nothing you do works, you think you are the worst mother. Then you talk to other mothers and figure out that your not alone! That’s what life with teenagers is like. You hear the stories, but you don’t believe it until you live it!

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 3 months ago
  14. * Jen says:

    You poor thing!

    I’ve been assured by my mother that it all starts evening out when the grandchildren come along. Until then, they’ll never believe you know anything…

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 3 months ago
  15. * Lucky Lum says:

    Stop it! Stop it!
    I don’t want to hear anymore.
    Only stories about how the teenage years are smooooth sailing compared to the toddler years.

    I might as well start building my own wine cellar now for the amount of alcohol I’ll need for the next 16+ years!

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 3 months ago
  16. * Lori says:

    I used to want to make Tshirts for my kids to wear that said “This is why you use birth control”, but figured that probably wouldn’t go over all that well.

    I think I’ve got 2/3 of that combo, but thankfully not quite the same problems. Sometimes I wonder why my lovely daughter doesn’t date, but then I slap myself to realize the headaches I’m avoiding, at least for now.

    Cheers!

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 3 months ago
  17. * Kami says:

    UUUUUGGGGGGGHHHHHHHH.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 3 months ago


Leave a Reply

