Celebrating Women for the Real World



When The School Has To Send A Message Like This……

This is an email I received yesterday. I am a “key communicator” for our district meaning, the district sends information to the group hoping to squelch any rumors.


This week we did have a fight between two students in the cafeteria. The Assistant Principal’s handled the situation immediately and took control of the situation. Apparently there have been rumors that there was a gun involved or a gun found. We want to assure you that this is not correct information and that it was a rumor. It was just a fight between two students (proper disciplinary action was taken). Please share with your neighbors that Goodson is still safe.

Thank you!

Goodson Administration
Goodson Key Communicators


My youngest son goes to this school and witnessed this fight. Although there weren’t any weapons, I will tell you that the two boys involved punched the Asst. Principal who tried to break up the fight. They through him against the wall and then went back to their fist fight!

If the threat of “corporal punishment”, as in the right of the a/p or principal to spank or paddle our children was still an option, would these kids still had such disregard for an “authority” figure?

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * TBG says:

    That is terrible. Wow they need a little ass wooping at home for sure! Those parents should be ashamed!

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 8 months ago
  2. * AL says:

    Yuck! At least it wasn’y on the news (I think)! My High School (in Spring ISD) that I teach at has had a really bad year . . . really bad!

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 8 months ago
  3. * Suz says:

    That is just horrible that those kids acted like that.

    Its such a shame the way some kids treat teachers and the rest of administration these days.

    Hugs Suz

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 8 months ago
  4. * Christie says:

    wow….

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 8 months ago
  5. * Karen says:

    I think most schools in the area are having problems this year and the extra enrollment from the Katrina kids is a big factor. Overcrowding is not helpful to harmony. My son’s high school has dealt with a weapon – hand gun and a pellet gun- at school this year and fights among locals and Katrina kids over turf. It’s stressful, to say the least. The administrators have to be really firm and not take any nonsense. Nip it in the bud.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 8 months ago
  6. * Carrie says:

    My question is, if the principal hit back in self defense, would it have made the news? I bet the parents of the two kids involved would have thrown a fit if the ‘authority’ figure fought back.

    People are so quick to call everything ‘abuse’ but I got my booty spanked when I was young and I think it did me a world of good. Not to mention the rumor that the principal had a giant ruby on her gigantic paddle scared me so bad in Elementary, I didn’t want to misbehave. 🙂

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 8 months ago
  7. * Spikey1 says:

    This seriously scares me….

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 8 months ago
  8. * Judy says:

    Wow, how old were these kids? I’m sensing junior high. What is probably the most shameful of it all is the parents probably don’t even care. I know, that is horrible for me to say when I don’t even know the full situation, but years of teaching junior high have left me jaded…parents that don’t care or parents who back up their kid EVEN WHEN THEY ARE WRONG are where the issues start.

    HUGS

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 8 months ago
  9. * Lucky Lum says:

    That is scary they punched the AP!!
    Maybe they need to hire a beefy security guard. A good looking beefy one at that.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 8 months ago
  10. * The Kept Woman says:

    There’s just so little that schools can do in terms of serious discipline any more…even if a teacher tried to keep control (through some kind of classroom discipline system…and I’m not talking corporal punishment) there’s no guarantee that the administration at their school will back them up.

    God knows Katy ISD would leave any teacher to stand on their own like a fart in the wind if their reputation was on the line.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 8 months ago
  11. * MommyMe says:

    Damn that is scarey!

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 8 months ago
  12. * Tink says:

    That’s just plain scary. When I was in high school they actually hired a police officer that stayed on campus for this kind of BS. Kids nowadays really don’t think there are consequences for their actions.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 8 months ago
  13. * Nancy says:

    Katy isn’t the only school system to leave us hanging.

    My back wasn’t helped by the two times a kid pushed me down… and one of those times I was fussed at for “being in his way”.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 8 months ago
  14. * BlondGirl says:

    I think stuff like this happens in schools because, in addition to kids not being taught to respect those in authority over them, the parents also show blantant disrespect for the school system, as well.

    My sons are grown now but I can’t tell you how many years my husband and I went to open houses, pta meetings, etc., and there were very few other parents there.

    I’m not saying that stuff like what happened at your son’s school is right, it is not. But if the parents don’t care, why should the kids?

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 8 months ago
  15. * Amy says:

    Yes, it might have made a difference, but I still would never let someone else spank my kid. I HATE spanking him myself – I was always a non-spanking parent, but I have a kid who loses it, so…anyway, not worth it to me. IMO, one should expect this sort of thing if one is getting into a career in modern schools.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 8 months ago
  16. * Alexwebmaster says:

    Hello webmaster
    I would like to share with you a link to your site
    write me here preonrelt@mail.ru

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 9 months ago


Leave a Reply

