Celebrating Women for the Real World



And Now For the Rest of the Story……

Here’s a little background to help you understand the emotions behind this….umn, conversation between me and my daughter. Over the summer, my daughter went from a size 12 to a size 5. She decided that she wanted to lose this weight. At first the only thing she would eat in a day was like a cup of cereal and a glass of juice! We had a long talk about why our bodies need food and that, if she wanted to keep the weight off, she needed to change her thought pattern about food and make healthy food choices. She was OK with that and she made sure that I kept healthy foods in the house. She also worked on portion control. Obviously it worked. Here’s a picture of her last October.

My daughter is athletic. She plays soccer so keeping the weight off wasn’t too hard. Then around Christmas she met boyfriend. What happens when you fall in love? Yup, you eat because, well, when you’re 15 and don’t drive, there isn’t too much to do other than get dropped off at the mall or the movies. A few weeks ago she bought a cute pair of shorts. My first thought was “man, those are short!” It hasn’t been warm enough to wear these shorts until recently. She put them on. I looked up at her from the foyer and did that little eyebrow raised thing that moms do. Read on for the conversation that ensued…..

J: “What? Why are you looking at me that way?”
Me: “You’re shorts are a little small.”
J: “So, you’re calling me fat!”
Me: “No. I just said that they’re a little small. You have other clothes that fit better.”
J: “Why do you say they’re too small? I got them buttoned and zippered!”

…I’ll stop here for a brief intermission. In order for you to get the true visual of how tight they were, think back to your college days when you had to lay on the bed and your friend helped you zip and button. Sometimes a hanger was needed to assist. Of course, you didn’t drink any beer or sit down for the rest of the evening! Got the visual now? Good, read on!

Me: “Did you try them on in the store?”
J: “yes, and they are size 5 and that’s what size I wear!”
Me: “J, the size that’s on the label doesn’t mean as much as what they look like when you put them on!”
J: “See, I knew you thought I was fat!” —–as she stomps off to her room crying——

So now, as you look back at your pictures trying to find just the right one for Way Back Wednesday, and you find one of you in the most horrific outfits ever and you ask your mom “why didn’t you stop me? How could you have let me go out looking like this?” You will know…..the rest of the story!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Sheri & SuZan says:

    LMAO…being I know all the players, I would have loved to be a fly on the wall. You’ll need that margarita Friday night.

    šŸ™‚

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 9 months ago
  2. * Carrie says:

    Wow. That could have been a conversation between my mom and I when I was a teenager.

    Kudos to you for supporting her weight regardless of what it is and talking to her about the healthy ways to lose and maintain her weight.

    The argument that for some insane reason, a size 5 isn’t always a size 5 because the clothing industry is run by crack heads won’t register with her for a few more years to come. I still get irritated by it, but at that age, all that matters is the number on the tag. šŸ™‚

    Maybe you could go buy a pair of 7’s and switch the tag with a 5 tag and be like, “see, they can be different!” šŸ™‚

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 9 months ago
  3. * Lucky Lum says:

    I do not want to be the mom of a teenage girl!
    The hormones, the drama, the rebeliousness, the not listening to anything your parents tell you…

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 9 months ago
  4. * aka_Meritt - www.coffeetalking.blogspot.com says:

    Well, you know you were in a NO WIN situation there, right? LOL.

    Sounds like she knew they were a little ‘too much’ but was hoping she was wrong and you just affirmed what she knew to be true; so she took it out on you. šŸ™‚

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 9 months ago
  5. * Greg - Cowboy in the Jungle says:

    Damn… I never considered that phase when we had a girl. Is this what I have to look forward to?

    What if the conversation went like this:

    You: “You’re shorts are a little small.”
    J: “So, you’re calling me fat!”
    Me: “No. You are a very thin and attractive young lady, but those shorts will make you look fat and every one will think you are gaining weight.”

    There is an old trick called “Dress a size larger to look a size smaller.”

    OH! By the way… Happy Texas Independance Day.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 9 months ago
  6. * The Kept Woman says:

    You know you’re going to cause me a nervous break-down, right? With the body-image issues I’ve endured in the past I am SCARED TO DEATH that my girls will go through it too.

    I have no words of wisdom other than to second Meritt.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 8 months ago
  7. * Kami says:

    OH. NO.

    Thank you God for my boy. Thank you.

    Not that they don’t do this shit, but it’s not as much.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 8 months ago
  8. * Sheri & SuZan says:

    Greg-Damn, I just don’t think that fast! I need to have you programed in to my cell next time something like this happens. Happy Texas Independence Day to you as well!

    TKW-body immage-I hear ya.

    Kami-As I’ve said before-boys are totally different creatures, but at least they aren’t hormonal!

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 8 months ago
  9. * Spikey1 says:

    Wheeeeeew. I have a boy (but that could change in May) eeeek.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 8 months ago
  10. * Suz says:

    Ahhh to be the mom of a teenage girl. According to my daughter I have put my foot in my mouth a few times.

    Hugs Suz

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 8 months ago
  11. * Nap Queen says:

    I so hope I have a boy šŸ™‚

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 8 months ago
  12. * Lori says:

    Gah, don’t you love that!

    I get the ‘why are you looking at me?’ all the time.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 8 months ago
  13. * Katy says:

    Ah, I remember being 15 and boy howdy did I hate my Mom. My prayers are with you and I hope and Pray your daughter does not hate you as deeply as I hated my mother.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 8 months ago
  14. * Jennifer says:

    Oh goodness… Thank so much for sharing that. It brings back so many memories of when I was 15. Which btw was when I met boyfriend (now husband) and my extra 100lbs. (two kids has something to do with that as well though)

    I really enjoy reading stories of you and your teenagers. Mostly cause I feel I’ll be in your shoes faster than I can blink.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 8 months ago


Leave a Reply

