Celebrating Women for the Real World



Letting Go Is So Damn Hard!

Hello…
My name is SuZan…
And I am a control freak…

I knew it was going to happen sooner or later; I know I have to let him grow up; I know I have done my job of teaching him right from wrong. G2 is out tonight at a party, and yes, I know it is no big deal, but it doesn’t make it any easier.

Of course he didn’t understand the anxiety that I was feeling when we had our “be responsible” talk. You know the one where you talk to your child about drinking and drugs and the do not get in any car if the driver has been drinking. I had him show me that his cell phone was turned on and further told him to expect a call later in the evening from me…sigh.

Now who said that boys are easier than girls?

I wait sitting on the couch, thinking, worrying, and wondering where the years went. He is a young man and he has been kind, considerate and responsible so far. I know that I am overprotective and I’ll be the first to admit it. This also is not the first time he has gone out, but we have entered a new era of his friends picking him up and going off not Big G or myself taking him and going to get him. I don’t know all of his friends now and furthermore, I don’t know all of his friend’s parents.

When did all of this happen?

I now understand why we get grey hair.
They are our battle scars from raising teenagers.

and I sit…and I wait…


UPDATE: He did make it home alive! He even came home 30 minutes early (that’s my boy). He did tell me that there was beer at the party. One one hand I’m not happy about that, but, I’m happy that he felt comfortable to tell me the truth (and I didn’t smell anything on him). After he got home safe and sound, I felt so silly for what I was feeling. I think I’m just going to have to get used to feeling silly.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Tutu says:

    SuZan, you think it will get better but I hate to tell you it doesn’t. I am visiting my 26 year old and he works until 11 and at 3 am I woke up and he wasn’t here. He got home fine just stayed and partied with friends. The one good thing is when they move out you don’t know all this stuff is going on.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 4 months ago
  2. * aka_Meritt - www.coffeetalking.blogspot.com says:

    ROTFL… I wish we lived closer to each other. I have a feeling we would become ‘back door friends’ and we’d all sit around sipping coffee talking about our teenagers together!!!

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 4 months ago
  3. * Karen says:

    As the mom of a 16 year old, an only child, I know exactly what you are saying.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 4 months ago
  4. * Suz says:

    Hugs, Going through the same thing now also with my oldest also a boy. Iam terrible when it comes to having him call me. He’ll be 18 next month and i still make him check in with me all the time.

    Too many things happen these days for us moms not to worry about our kids no matter what the age.

    Hugs Suz

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 4 months ago
  5. * Kami says:

    I REFUSE TO LISTEN TO THIS!

    🙂

    Kidding. I’m just too scared.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 4 months ago
  6. * :: jozjozjoz :: says:

    I have grey hair and have no kids.

    I think a teenager would just push me over the edge.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 4 months ago
  7. * Jennifer says:

    I just pray that my kids don’t turn out anything like I was as a teenager!

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 4 months ago
  8. * Henny says:

    Girls, my kids are all grown and kids of their own. You never stop worrying or loving or wanting to nurture but somehow it does get a little easier when they become responsible adults and I emphasize little. Hang in there, because you seem to be a good parent so far just trusting him.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 4 months ago
  9. * Tammy says:

    Oh. No. My boy is going to be 6 tomorrow and I was wondering where the time went. I can’t imagine being able to handle him being a teenager!

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 4 months ago
  10. * Spikey1 says:

    Great, thanks alot for stressing me out for the next 14 years!

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 4 months ago
  11. * Steph says:

    I know what you mean..been going thru the same thing here. I dread next yr when he turns 16 & will be driving all the time ..EEEEKK
    HANG IN THERE !!!

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 4 months ago
  12. * The Kept Woman says:

    Oh man. Update us woman! We’re dying here!

    I can see myself 15 years from now wondering the same thing. I look at my girls everyday and already wonder where the last two years have slipped off to…

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 4 months ago
  13. * Mama C says:

    Where’s the update? Did he make it home ok? Hurry….can’t stand it!

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 4 months ago
  14. * Carrie says:

    My dad says that the gray on one side of his head is from my sister and the other side from me. I’m happy to report that my side has the least gray. 🙂 Hang in there. 🙂

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 4 months ago
  15. * MommyMe says:

    So you are saying it isn’t easier with a boy?

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 4 months ago
  16. * Football Widow says:

    I’m stressing out for you! My son is only 14 months old. I can’t imagine when he is that age. I’ll definatley have to take up drinking on a regular basis!

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 4 months ago


Leave a Reply

