Celebrating Women for the Real World



Can I Go Back To Austin….Pllleeeaaasssseee!

I’m sure my mother prayed that one day I would have a teenage daughter! Boy, did her prayers get answered. Unfortunately, my little cuss is just as stubborn and pig headed as I am. This, my friends, makes for some interesting mornings in Cypress.

My daughter is a Sophomore in High School and on the JV Soccer team. The Sophomores are the “big sister” to the Freshman and are supposed to show them the ropes. For each home game (once a week), they are supposed to buy each other a “gift”. Yesterday was “the big game” against our biggest rival. The girls organized a sleepover, made shirts, and initiated the freshman (water balloons on the coldest night of the year). In Texas, Freshman are called “fish”. All of the older girls decided to buy their little sister a fish that they had to carry around school all day. Cute idea. However, let me give you an example of my morning yesterday, which was also “TAKS” testing-one portion of the standardized testing in Texas over which the teachers stress our kids completely to the point of them (the kids) getting stomach aches from nerves. Here it goes:

j: “mom, can you take me to school at 6:45 tomorrow?”
Me: “That’s tough. You know what our mornings are like.”
J: “Please mom. We are supposed to get there early so that we can decorate the locker room.”
Me: “OK. I will do it this time, but you better be ready to roll! Don’t make me come up and tell you to hurry.”
J: “Thanks.”

Forward to the next morning:

Me: “Son, we need to leave early cause J needs to be at school early.”
Son: “No way. I’m not leaving early. That’s just too bad.”
Me: “OK, well then try to find a ride. I’m leaving early.”
Son: “I don’t want a crappy breakfast. Can you take me out?”
Me: “Yes. Do you have money?”
Son: “sigh”

At about 6:40 J comes running down the stairs, trying to balance her soccer bag, her purse, her folders & calculator, and whatever else she needs. Her oatmeal had been ready and sitting on the counter for about 5 minutes.

J: “Great, I love how we were supposed to be there at 6:45. It’s 6:43 and we haven’t left yet!”
Me: “I thought we were supposed to leave at 6:45!”
J: “You always screw everything up!”
Me: “J, you weren’t even down here in time to eat your breakfast.”
J: “Never mind. Just get in the car.”

By this point, my temper is about to get out of control. Luckily I read a book about raising teenagers. Yeah, the book has been very enlightening and a great stress reliever-especially when I throw it against the wall!

We get in the car, fish and all. As I drove, water spilled out of the little tank. J yells because “I’m such a crappy driver.” I was still trying to keep my composure as I knew a lot of her reaction was pure nerves. I knew she felt bad because she wasn’t there to help the team decorate. I certainly was planning to “discuss” this with her later! We got to school. I got out to try to help her at least get everything situated so that she can get in the door. Her stubbornness took over and she grabbed something from my hand and told me she didn’t need any help. While doing this, about half of the water in the fish tank spilled all over the back seat. What does a mom do now you ask? She gets back into the car, watches daughter struggle to carry everything AND open the door to the school! She then points her car in the direction of the nearest Starbucks as the bars were not yet open!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Karen says:

    My son is a sophomore and I know exactly how you feel. His moods in the morning are something to behold. I have some nerve waking him up and expecting him to get on with the day.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 9 months ago
  2. * Kami says:

    Oh. My. Gawd.

    You need to go get some Valium or something.

    Crap. CRAP. Can I return Nik?

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 9 months ago
  3. * Amy says:

    PLEASE tell me your son is at least easier than your daughter? I keep telling myself that I’m lucky to only have a boy? Have a latte for me!

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 9 months ago
  4. * Suz says:

    Hugs … Now this sounds like my oldest son. I hope your day has gotten better.

    Hugs Suz

    Catching up on blogs I noticed the great Austin pictures. Glad you all had a great time!

    Hugs Suz

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 9 months ago
  5. * Sheri & SuZan says:

    Hmm, let me tell you about teenage boys. The smell, the burp and fart, they are loud, they drive too fast, and are way more daring than most teenage girls! Then they bond with each other–its almost tribal!

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 9 months ago
  6. * Carrie says:

    Big sis, little sis, that brings back memories! That’s pretty cool that the school will let them carry around a real fish all day!

    Love your comment about throwing the book against the wall. 🙂

    I was a bit like your daughter at that age – I was high strung and always overreacting to little things. I still thank my parents for not kicking me out or locking me up. 🙂

    You know, if the need ever arises, since I’m not so far away – I love happy hour! 🙂

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 9 months ago
  7. * Steph says:

    I am so with ya on teens..I have 2 of the little varmits at my house. The are money sucking little boogers I tell ya. You are one of those “good moms” I hear about though…YOU COOK THEM BREAKFAST ! Im here via Kami

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 9 months ago
  8. * Steph says:

    By the way I have family in Houston & a cousin in Cypress.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 9 months ago
  9. * Spikey1 says:

    I cant wait! Arrrg

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 9 months ago
  10. * FutureFoodTVStar says:

    TAKS ticks me off… there is no reason why we should be stressing our kids out to pass a test that the SHRUB-MonkeyBoy-AntiChrist dork couldn’t pass.

    I actually had a student commit suicide the night before the TAKS test because he didn’t want to take it. Man that was fun, trying to administer tests to a room full of crying sophomores.

    And I Starbucks is usually my poison of choice over bars anyway… its cheaper and not illegal to drink while driving.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 9 months ago
  11. * Cat says:

    Yep, that sounds about right. so ummm does that book really help? what is it?

    oh and Starbucks is the BOMB! (when bars are closed)

    Take care!

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 9 months ago
  12. * momma of 2 says:

    Now I am scared… I have a drama queen for a baby girl and she’s only 3, why do I think my mom wished for me to have a girl just like me when I was a teen…

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 9 months ago
  13. * aka_Meritt - www.coffeetalking.blogspot.com says:

    … wait; it’s a REAL fish?????????

    I thought they would carry around a stuffed fish, or a picture of a fish, or a fish pin or something. But a REAL fish?

    Poor little fishies.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 9 months ago
  14. * MommyMe says:

    Has anyone figured out how to prevent them from growing up? I think I can deal with a 3 almost 4 year old for a while longer.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 9 months ago
  15. * Mama C says:

    Oh so sorry about your morning. I still have to feed them at that age? Can’t I just leave the cereal out? I look forward to reading more.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 9 months ago
  16. * Candy says:

    Oh crap. I am totally adopting mine out before all the school/teenage stuff starts. I’m so screwed because I was NOT a good teenager… *gulp*

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 9 months ago
  17. * MilkMaid says:

    ahaha..I expected you to say you turned the car towards the door and gunned it to scare her.

    Not saying I ever did that to my teens or anything.

    😉

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 9 months ago
  18. * Brighton says:

    Oh G-d. Is that what I have to look forward to?? I better learn to like coffee.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 9 months ago
  19. * Sleeping Mommy says:

    I’m so scared. What is the title of that book? I think I’m going to need a couple of copies to throw around by the time my kids hit that age.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 9 months ago
  20. * Football Widow says:

    This is why teenagers scare me. Especially the girls. God Bless you for not losing your patience!

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 9 months ago


Leave a Reply

