Celebrating Women for the Real World



WAY BACK WEDNESDAY!

Gone but not forgotten…a more serious tone this week as we share our pictures of ourselves with loved ones we’ve lost (either through death or lost touch with over the years).

Go on over the Mama Duck’s site ‘The Kept Woman’ to see who all played this week.


This beautiful lady is my mother. We lost her in June 1997. I think what I admire most about my mom was her gustiness. Her and my dad divorced when I was one, so you can imagine the challenges she had back in the early 60โ€™s. During the late 60โ€™s, she accepted a job in Mexico City as an English Teacher. She upped and moved with her young daughter (that would be me) to Mexico. As an adult now, I really donโ€™t think I would have had the guts to do what she did. Of course her actions have been a blessing for me because I use my Spanish every day. I never thanked her for that screwy upbringing and I wish I had.

So mom, thank you for taking a chance, for doing the unthinkable and unpredictable. Your actions have given me so many opportunities all throughout my adulthood. I love you and miss you!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Spikey1 says:

    Wow, that is beautiful. Today is going to be tough doing this. I played. Hugs.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 10 months ago
  2. * Christie says:

    wow, gorgeous.
    She has such kind and wise eyes

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 10 months ago
  3. * Cat says:

    How beautiful she was! what a Great Post!

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 10 months ago
  4. * aka_Meritt - www.coffeetalking.blogspot.com says:

    She is eally pretty… and so innocent looking. Her lips and cheeks… beautiful.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 10 months ago
  5. * Hope says:

    Very beautiful! Your mother and the post. And what a wonderful tribute to her, as well.

    I played, but you know that ๐Ÿ˜‰

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 10 months ago
  6. * Jana says:

    What a beautiful lady, and obviously very strong and special!

    Thanks for your comment on mine!

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 10 months ago
  7. * Tammy says:

    What an absolutly beautiful woman she was. And so very brave.

    I played.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 10 months ago
  8. * Bradley Egel says:

    Beautiful picture…when I see old pictures of my mother, I also think she was cute! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Great Post ๐Ÿ™‚

    I Played

    Bradley
    The Egel Nest

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 10 months ago
  9. * Jodes says:

    that was very nice. I like the title of your blog. I am trying to celebrate women too on mine.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 10 months ago
  10. * The Kept Woman says:

    She’s just beautiful. I’m glad you have the memories of her to keep her fire burning.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 10 months ago
  11. * Karen says:

    Lovely tribute. Your mom has kind eyes.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 10 months ago
  12. * Suz says:

    What a beautful lady, and a great tribute to your mom.

    Hugs Suz

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 10 months ago
  13. * Jody says:

    Your mother was gorgeous! And truly very brave. Lovely post.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 10 months ago
  14. * Carrie says:

    What a beautiful and strong lady! Great post!
    I played.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 10 months ago
  15. * Kami says:

    What a gorgeous woman. And I think I’m with you – I wouldn’t have the courage to do what she did, either. Wow.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 10 months ago
  16. * Mainline Mom says:

    What a nice tribute to a gorgeous woman!

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 10 months ago
  17. * momsgoneloony says:

    She was a attractive as she was brave. She raised a wonderful, courageous daughter as well!!

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 10 months ago
  18. * Lucky Lum says:

    She is utterly gorgeous!!
    And a very strong woman it sounds like too.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 10 months ago
  19. * Kelly says:

    She is beautiful and oh so strong! Great post! I played too!

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 10 months ago
  20. * MMC says:

    Wow, what a beautiful lady.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 10 months ago
  21. * andrea says:

    Your mom was a beautiful, gutsy lady.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 10 months ago
  22. * Nap Queen says:

    Wow, what a gorgeous, smart, courageous woman!

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 10 months ago
  23. * Partners in crime says:

    What a nice post….i wish we could have all known her

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 10 months ago
  24. * Missy says:

    What a great post. 1997 was a suckasss year. I lost my dad and FIL. I understand. *HUGS*

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 10 months ago


Leave a Reply

