Celebrating Women for the Real World



Stuff Portrait Friday!


Friday yet again! This week, Kristine over at Random and Odd, used some of Bill’s ideas. The theme this week is “Games People Play” and we are to post pictures of…

1. A game YOU played
2. Your family game.
3. Your Games.

A GAME I PLAYED

I don’t know if you would call it a game, but growing up (besides soft ball) I fenced. As one not wanting to conform to the norm, I loved this sport. I wasn’t that great at it but I could hold my own; so, give me a foil…and watch out!

OUR FAMILY GAME

We don’t play every week but we do sit down and enjoy dominos. Personally, I like Mexican train and Chicken Foot. Big G likes straight dominoes and G2 just likes to win.

MY GAME

I love to play Backgammon, but I have to beg and plead for someone in the house to play with me, so most of the time I have to resort to playing on the net. I am actually pretty good and won second in the only tournament I ever entered (back a few lifetimes ago).

.

For bonus points I’ve added this book. I read this in my late teens and it is still one of my favorites. It always amazed me how I could see myself and others engaged in the games the book describes. It is worth the read if you have the time and does give you good suggestions to stop the games.

Did you play?

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Random and Odd says:

    I BEAT KAMI!!

    I’m so happy I picked this week…actually, Bill picked it.

    Seeing these games make me want to grab the kids and teach them how to play backgammon.

    Fencing…you rock!

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 7 months ago
  2. * andrea says:

    Fencing? That’s interesting. I was a softball player too.

    I played.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 7 months ago
  3. * Tutu says:

    I haven’t played backgammon in years. The book looks interesting. I played too.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 7 months ago
  4. * zerodoll says:

    I was wondering who would interpret games as mind games and how they would depict that, thakns for the book suggestion!
    (I played too.)

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 7 months ago
  5. * Christie says:

    I’m so lazy.. I should play but I don’t want to hook up the lense and all that… lmao

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 7 months ago
  6. * Jana says:

    Fencing – cool!

    I played!

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 7 months ago
  7. * Spikey1 says:

    I was the Canadian Backgammon Champ! Bring it on!

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 7 months ago
  8. * Karen says:

    I have loved a good game of backgammon since my college days. We used to play for hours. My husband, however, will no longer play with me as I kick his ass every time. Big baby! So, I plan to teach my son this summer to have someone at home to play with. (Son loves chess).

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 7 months ago
  9. * Vajana says:

    I haven’t played backgammon in years, I need to re-learn how to play.

    I LOVE LOVE LOVE dominoes.

    And I like your book too, nice take on ‘games’!

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 7 months ago
  10. * Suz says:

    That is so neat that you did fencing.

    Love to play Dominoes with my kids.

    Hugs Suz

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 7 months ago
  11. * Kami says:

    I do not have a clue how to play Dominoes. How sad is that?

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 7 months ago
  12. * FutureFoodTVStar says:

    I just learned how to play Backgammon last year on Pogo. My great aunt taught me how to play dominoes. God, I miss her.

    I was a softball junkie too.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 7 months ago
  13. * Teena says:

    My husband started fencing in the fall and loves it. He’s going in a tournament at the end of this month and is very excited!!

    I played! Thanks for stopping by mine 🙂

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 7 months ago
  14. * jayfish says:

    i would love to learn fencing. it looks like a great workout for the mind and body. and i’m with kami, i have no idea how to play dominoes…

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 7 months ago
  15. * Lori says:

    Fencing – very cool!

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 7 months ago
  16. * ZuphChic says:

    I would SO play Backgammon with you! I use to play with my mom all the time but it has been YEARS!!

    Great SPF!

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 7 months ago
  17. * Angi says:

    I’m feeling a bit uncultured here… I’ve never learned backgammon, can’t recall dominoes (though I have faith i could read the directions 😉 and fencing – Wow! That’s cool! Never done that one either. Great games!!

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 7 months ago
  18. * Mrs.Strizzay says:

    Cool, I love dominoes

    I played

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 7 months ago
  19. * Charmed1 says:

    You know it didn’t even occur to put a volleyball up there on my blog. Great pictures and I’ll play BG with you, I suck, but I’ll play!

    I played!

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 7 months ago
  20. * Torie says:

    Fencing – Wow. I’m not that cordinated.
    I Played!

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 7 months ago
  21. * Charlotte in Pa says:

    I have to find a place online to re-teach me Backgammon. I used to LOVE that game, and I totally forgot about it. Glad I stopped by!

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 7 months ago
  22. * Southern Fried Girl says:

    Man I have not played backgammon for years. I used to love that game.

    I played.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 7 months ago
  23. * Partners in crime says:

    I can’t believe you are a fencer, I am so jealous. I played!

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 7 months ago


Leave a Reply

