Celebrating Women for the Real World



Remember, Your Teen Can Have a Bad Day

I was getting a little irritated (OK, I was downright pissed) at my oldest son yesterday. One of his teachers called me. I sent my son a text message asking him to call me at lunch. He didn’t. My temper was mounting (OK, I was steaming). Finally, he called me while I was stuck in traffic driving home from the office. I was distracted by the traffic which was good for him as I wasn’t in the mind set to “rip him a knew one.” As he told me about his day, I was glad that I did more listening than talking. Here is his day in a nutshell.

2nd period-went to restroom. While washing hands, cell phone fell into sink and now doesn’t work. Gets to his 3rd period class (chemistry). They were doing a lab. He slipped his class ring off while doing the lab so that the chemicals wouldn’t damage it. Class ended, the lab wasn’t finished. Teacher said everyone had to stay to clean up lab. Long and short, when he finally left to try to make it to his 4th period class which is on the other side of the school, not only did he forget his ring, he was late (according to him by 5 seconds) and the teacher wouldn’t let him in. This is the teacher that called me. The teachers words to me were “M just missed making it to class on time and came as I was shutting the door.” (This would line up with the 5 seconds as the teachers all close the door when the bell rings and anyone in the hall has to go to “tardy sweeps”.)

By the time he finished, I was glad I didn’t start our conversation by yelling at him. It’s hard to remember that our kids have bad days also.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Thanks For The Ride Lady says:

    Good choice, listening first. Sometimes that’s the hardest thing to do when you’re angry.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 8 months ago
  2. * Carrie says:

    I used to hate trying to get to class on time. Teachers wouldn’t let you go to the bathroom during class so you had to basically run to the restroom between classes, try to get to you locker, and then either run from one end of the school to the other (jr. high) or sprint up the stairs(high school) and try to get to your class. I think as long as someones not a chronic offender of being late, it could be overlooked a little.

    Hope his day goes better today!!!

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 8 months ago
  3. * Suz says:

    Hugs to your son. What a good mom to listen first. I know thats isnt always easy to do. I hope he got his ring back.

    If they are late for class in the high school here there are different things they do for how many times they are late. It startes off with a before or after school detention and goes from there.

    Hugs Suz

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 8 months ago
  4. * Holly says:

    poor guy. i hope he’s having a better day today. i remember what it was like to have those kinds of bad days. when you’re a kid sometimes it truly seems like the end of the world.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 8 months ago
  5. * Spikey1 says:

    Can I apply this to JK??? Hope he has a better one now!

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 8 months ago
  6. * Partners in crime says:

    You gals are so inspirational! I would love to join in on the fun. At least you know he is washing his hands…my baby girl always makes such a mess. Tell him to keep his chin up and his thoughts towards the sky.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 8 months ago
  7. * aka_Meritt - www.coffeetalking.blogspot.com says:

    … he didn’t lose his ring though right?????? I got it back?????

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 8 months ago


Leave a Reply

