Celebrating Women for the Real World



A Very Long Drive

Thank you all for your many kind words and thoughts. Unfortunately, poor Bradley got worse and we had to put him down today. The meds seemed to make him feel better, but it seems the cancer got to his brain. He started to have seizures today and after the last one which lasted about 5 minutes, he was very disoriented and uncomfortable. Like many of you said, we knew it was time. It was.

Our vet uses a 24 hour emergency clinic near our home. We called, explained the problem, and made the decision that we couldn’t let poor Bradley suffer any longer. I didn’t think I would be able to do it, but I did. I helped my husband put him in the car, I drove, helped get him out, then said good-bye. The staff at the clinic was very nice and understanding. They made the whole process as easy as possible. We were told that we could go back and be there with him, but we both decided we couldn’t. We said our goodbyes. By this point he seemed like he could no longer see us or hear us. He was a “gentle giant” to the end.

Again, thanks for your thoughts and prayers. It was easier to do after seeming him in such a bad state.

I love you, Bradley! Thanks for all of your love and kisses!
Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Suz says:

    More Hugs To You! You sound like you are at peace about it. Iam glad that Bradley is no longer in pain. Now your family will have a doggie angel watching over you all.

    Hugs Suz

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 8 months ago
  2. * My Sister says:

    I’m so sorry about Bradley. I have had to do this twice, and it never gets any easier.

    Bradley is in a better place and will be watching over you.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 8 months ago
  3. * Holly says:

    my condolences on your beloved puppy’s passing.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 8 months ago
  4. * Greg - Cowboy in the Jungle says:

    Deepest sorrow and sympathy for your loss. Tis better to have loved and lost than to never have loved at all. Your life was much richer for it and so was Bradley’s.

    You did what was best to keep him from suffering and I know he wouldn’t want you to suffer in his absence – especially since he isn’t there to comfort you in the way that only a dog could (they seem to know things that people don’t).

    Take a deep breath, think of the good times, and go outthere and have a great life. He’ll be waiting on you – wagging tail and all.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 8 months ago
  5. * Spikey1 says:

    I have gone through this before and my tears are with you. Hugs.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 8 months ago
  6. * MilkMaid says:

    I’m so sorry. 😦

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 8 months ago
  7. * Carrie says:

    I am so sorry to hear of your loss. My thoughts and prayers are with you and your family. 😦

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 8 months ago
  8. * BlondGirl says:

    My thoughts are with you. You did the right thing by not letting him suffer. He’ll be waiting for you at the Rainbow Bridge.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 8 months ago
  9. * Anonymous Shannon says:

    You have my deepest sympathy. I’m so sorry for your loss. I bet he’s in heaven right now playing catch with an angel or taking a nap on a cloud.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 8 months ago
  10. * aka_Meritt - www.coffeetalking.blogspot.com says:

    Yes… it was time. You did good by putting him out of misery.

    Because you chose not to go in… let me tell you how peaceful it is so you don’t fret. I was there when we put our kitty cat down. They literally just get ‘sleepy’ and looked like he went to sleep. It’s very peaceful, calm and easy. Bradley was in a ‘good place’ so don’t fret. 🙂

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 8 months ago
  11. * Missy says:

    I am so sorry for your loss. There is nothing worse than putting down an animal. I have had to do it three times and it is so hard everytime.

    can’t wait to meet you at the blowout.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 8 months ago
  12. * The Kept Woman says:

    I tried to leave a comment when you first posted this (Blogger was being a sh*thead) and then my kids occupied my last few days.

    I just wanted to express my condolences. I put my rabbit, Lucky, to sleep in March of last year and it was the hardest decision I’ve ever made. I stayed with her the whole time and stroked her fur. It was nice to see her so peaceful after a rough go with an infection.

    I hope Bradley is being nice to Lucky at the Rainbow Bridge. I always have to worry about those doggies chasing her.

    (I’m crying thinking about it now…hope you’re coming through OK)

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 8 months ago


Leave a Reply

