Celebrating Women for the Real World



Teenagers Learning To Drive

Here’s a snippet of the conversation in the car last night while my teenage son who just got his permit a few weeks ago was driving and I was, um, err, well, here it is.

“Son, watch your right. You’re drifting.”

No response.

“You’re drifting again. You will drift in the direction that your looking. Try to find the center of the lane, focus on it and line it up with the center of the car.”

No response.

“Can you tell where the center of the lane is? See how it’s darker in the center. The center of my car is kind of where the wind shield wipers meet.”

Son says “Huh. I know what I’m doing.”

“Son, you really need to stay in the center. You’re about to hit the car in the other lane!”

“Why do people keep saying I’m drifting to the right?!? I know what I’m doing. Just leave me alone!”

As we pull onto the street that’s not so busy that leads into my subdivision, I noticed that we were drifting. I thought to myself that, if he does drift he won’t do much more than scrape the tire along the curb. Suddenly “Bump, chug, bang, whip lash!”

“Son, do you see why we keep telling you that you were drifting to the right?”

His response: “Wow. Why did they make the curb stick so far out?!?” “Good thing I wasn’t changing the radio station when that happened!”

Ugh!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Suz says:

    ROFL … Sorry I had to laugh, Iam going thu the same with my son and he also drifts to the right so close I think we are gonna kiss mailboxes sometimes. And now my daughter 15 is studying for her permit. Can I handle 2 learning, probably not, lol.

    They really need to make brakes on the passenger side for parents teaching to drive like they do driving intructors cars.

    Hugs Suz

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 5 months ago
  2. * Carrie says:

    Oh my goodness, that is so funny!!! I hope he has finally learned that he needs to focus on not drifting. I have a friend who is 35 who I refuse to ride with because of this very same reason – cars are always swerving out of her way and she stays oblivious! Good luck getting through this! 🙂

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 5 months ago
  3. * Rob says:

    Okay, that is too funny. I am not looking forward to that!

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 5 months ago
  4. * Jennifer says:

    Oy! I’m so glad I have a LoooonG time before I enter that part of my life with kids. 🙂

    Hope everything is alright.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 5 months ago
  5. * Jen says:

    I am so sorry, but I am laughing so hard that tears are coming out.

    I’m going to send this to my mom…

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 5 months ago
  6. * aka_Meritt - www.coffeetalking.blogspot.com says:

    LOL… as you know, BabyGirl got her permit in July and we’ve been having to do the ‘teen driving’ as well.

    I’m learning to swallow hard and keep my mouth shut – but I have such a controlling personality (Type A all the way) that it’s hard!

    We’ve not ventured onto busy ‘bigger city’ streets nor the interstate yet. I may make ‘dad’ do those first. LOL.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 5 months ago
  7. * Holly says:

    ack. i have 3 children to teach to drive. ack ack ack. and 2 within a year of each other.

    ack ack ack.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 5 months ago
  8. * Tricia says:

    Hey S&S,
    As a mom I thought that sharing the knowledge I’ve learned through past experiences would benefit my sons. Funny they don’t see it that way.
    The curb crunch is their preferred method of learning!
    Sometimes all I can do is hang on and enjoy?! the ride!

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 5 months ago
  9. * Mama Duck says:

    Thanks for scaring the crap out of me.

    Now I’m not going to sleep for the next 14 years.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 5 months ago
  10. * JD's Rose says:

    That is so funny.

    I am currently going through the same thing with my sisters…

    Good Luck. Stay Alive!

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 5 months ago


Leave a Reply

