Celebrating Women for the Real World



Self Portrait Friday!

MEET ELEPHANT woMAN…


I had posted earlier in the week that I woke up Monday morning to the left side of my face hurting, and thought that I had the mother of all zits forming under my brow. At the time of course I had to pick at it, try to squeeze it and all it did is send bolts of pain throughout my head.

Finally realizing that it was NOT a zit and that in fact it was lymph nodes (by now I have swelling where the arrows are on the self portrait). I conceded and went to the doctor (did I mention that I hate going to the doctor). He said that my throat was irritated and I had an infection and did not know why my throat wasn’t hurting (hello…I am woman…we have high tolerance to pain). So I’m taking Zithromax so we shall see.

Now that it is Friday I think that they are getting better, the big deformity under my brow is still hurting. Who knows what I did trying to squeeze the stuffing out of it….sigh. Now of course I’m wondering why we as women neglect ourselves and let things go a bit too far.

Yours truly,
THE ELEPHANT woMAN

btw: I never said I could draw!

Update: the swelling under the brow is a result of the swelling of the lymph node (I don’t know, along the lymphatic tract ????)…internal medicine isn’t my bag…however, it is starting to get better now.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * aka_Meritt - www.coffeetalking.blogspot.com says:

    We have lymph nodes in our eyebrows?????????????????????????

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 8 months ago
  2. * Suz says:

    How does a throat infection make your face look like that, never heard of such a thing. Anyways hope the meds take care of it.

    hmmmm nice drawing

    Hugs Suz

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 8 months ago
  3. * Henny says:

    So that’s what you look like. Not like I picutred. Really, though, that can be dangerous. Glad you are taking care of it.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 8 months ago
  4. * Tutu says:

    Glad you are feeing better and the meds are working. That must have been scary.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 8 months ago
  5. * Anonymous Shannon says:

    Gosh. I really hope you feel better soon. I hope you are taking it easy and not doing to much. When you rest, it helps your body to repair itself faster.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 8 months ago
  6. * Holly says:

    i wait til i have at least 3 unignorable things wrong before i go to the doctor. i consider it effective time management. i know if i wait long enough there will be 3 things that go wrong, and i avoid sitting in the dr. office, and in the pharmacy for each of the 3 seperate occasions.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 8 months ago
  7. * Peanutt says:

    Hey that drawing isn’t so bad! I can do stick people. LOL. Now thats talent!
    And ouch on the squeezing part!

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 8 months ago
  8. * Greg - Cowboy in the Jungle says:

    I’m glad that you nasty node got the nececessary attention.

    I am however far more worried about a secondary issue. One that perhaps your tolerance to pain has left you blissfuly unaware…

    YOUR FACE HAS SLUFFED OFF! Oh my god, woman! What happened to your eyes, your nose, your mouth?!?

    Go see the doctor immediately! I’m surprised he didn’t catch that during his examination!

    Get well!

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 8 months ago
  9. * Greg - Cowboy in the Jungle says:

    I just thought of something…

    We could al finish the drawing taking a guess what you look like. It’d be like that holiday event like where the kids all get a picture of a blank pumpkin and they have to draw a jack-o-lantern on it.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 8 months ago
  10. * SuZan says:

    LOL Greg….sounds like a plan!

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 8 months ago
  11. * Teri says:

    Ouch!

    Teri

    http://www.herestohappywomen.blogspot.com

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 8 months ago


Leave a Reply

