Celebrating Women for the Real World



Does Anyone Have Some Xanax? Paxil? Hell, Anything Will Do!

Why? Because two, count em, two of my teenagers got their learner’s permit yesterday. You guessed it. Of course, they both insisted on driving last night. My daughter got to drive to school this morning! I think they will surgically be removing the door handle from my hand and fix the hole in the floorboard-where I keep instinctively stepping on the invisible break!

Oy! Why don’t they issue a “student driver” sticker or flag that you can hang on the car when your teenager is learning to drive. You all have heard that 60 is the new 45 here in Texas. My daughter was going 35 in a 60. You can just imagine what the cars around us were doing! Then, she turned the brights on instead of the turn signal.

Me: “Your brights are on.”
J: “How do you turn it off?”
Me: “Pull turn signal thingy toward you gently.”

****Lights go off******

Me: “How did you do that? Just pull it toward you.”
J: “I am!”

****Meanwhile, big hulky guy in pick-up truck in front of us starts flipping the bird******

Me: “Let me get it.”
J: “No, I have to learn!”
Me: “Yes, but we don’t want to get killed in the process. Let me just fix it.”
J: “No”
Me: “Damn it! …seat belt off, reaches over & fixes problem……. Do you want to know what the problem was? She was TURNING the knob instead of pulling it towards her!

Oh-and the best part-this morning she goes to back out of the driveway and puts it into drive instead of reverse. After she backs out, she left it in reverse instead of drive!

SK thinking it’s going to be a LONG six months!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * aka_Meritt - www.coffeetalking.blogspot.com says:

    Bah ha ha ha ha…

    Mine got her permit in July and I never ever thought it would be an issue with me. None. Then? First time in the Land Rover with her and suddenly I don’t want to be there! I want to jump out! WOW it’s hard not to be the one in control when driving with them… (even if she was pretty good!)

    She hasn’t drove on the ice and snow though… she actually hasn’t driven in about 2 months. She kept forgetting her permit at home, and other times chose not to. We haven’t ventured out of our ‘small town’ yet either. No city driving yet.

    I think I’ll make Dad take her.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 8 months ago
  2. * Suz says:

    ROFL, I have to laugh cause Iam going thru the same thing. My oldest got his last July 2004. Here in GA you can get your permit at 15 but you have to have it a year and a day before you can take the road test. He has had his longer because although he drives pretty good there is no one to teach him to parralle park & I cant for the life of me. My middle turned 15 in Aug but hasnt gone for her permit yet, too much going on with school.

    Agree with Meritt, it so hard to not be in control in the car, nevermind when your teen is driving.

    Hugs Suz

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 8 months ago
  3. * Karen says:

    I’m with everyone else, laughing as I read. My son has been eligible to get his “real” license since he turned 16 in Sept. but isn’t it such a hurry to drive. Thank God! He just wants the license for the cool factor, I think! Whenever I offer for him to drive he doesn’t care to so I am not pushing him. He will when he’s ready.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 8 months ago
  4. * Carrie says:

    I saw a car last week with this on the bumper in bright red letters:

    CAUTION: NEW DRIVER
    Expect the Unexpected

    Man I wished I had a camera! You could try that… I mean it would embarrass the crap out of your kids, but at least everyone else would be warned. 🙂 hee-hee

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 8 months ago
  5. * Spikey1 says:

    Okay I am not laughing …. okay I am LOL! That is too funny. Even to this day when I drive with my dad he still does the invisible brake thing! funny!

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 8 months ago
  6. * Anonymous Shannon says:

    Wow! I freak out when my hubby is driving! That’s really going to suck when we have to teach our little one to drive. We’ve got thirteen years until then.

    Please keep writing about the adventures in driving. I will be taking notes to learn how to better handle it when its my turn!

    Good Luck!!!!

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 8 months ago
  7. * Peanutt says:

    Oh my! Let me know when you come to my town and I’ll beg the doctor for some medication! LOL.
    Have a great weekend! And enjoy the drive!

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 8 months ago


Leave a Reply

