Celebrating Women for the Real World



The Tree is Trimmed!

I finally have the tree trimmed. Why did it take so long, you ask? It is because our Christmas tree is our Family Tree. A few short years ago, we lost five family members in less than a year. Two years ago, I came up with this idea as a way to honor our family, past and present. I contacted our family members and had them email the most current picture of their household. Then I printed them out and put them in small frames on the Christmas tree.

With children growing and new additions to the family, I needed to take the time to update some of the pictures. So now it is complete; of course some of the older photos are just dear to me so they will remain as is. So let me introduce to you some of the special people in my life:

Our wedding day!

My Grandparents.

I am so fortunate to still have them.

My Mom; she was so beautiful.

.

This was G2’s first ornament he made in school (kindergarden).
I think he likes that I sill put up all of the ornaments
he made in elementary school. He was
an angel…now he is 16 🙂
.
(you can click the picture for larger detail)
Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Linda says:

    What a great idea and it seems a fitting way to honor your family. Your tree is beautiful!

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 12 months ago
  2. * aka_Meritt - www.coffeetalking.blogspot.com says:

    That’s very sweet.
    There is no way I’d want any of the mugs of my so called family on MY tree, but it IS filled with the mugs of my kiddos throughout the years… 😉

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 12 months ago
  3. * Suz says:

    What a great idea & a beautiful tree. Love all the pics.

    I have all the ornaments my kids made also.

    Hugs Suz

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 12 months ago
  4. * Sheri & SuZan says:

    Your tree is beautiful. I love this idea but seem to lack the time to get it all together. One day!

    BTW-My tree is still on the lot of the tree seller. I’m making it wait to come home so it can truly appreciate the warm home it’s coming into! Ha, ha!

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 12 months ago
  5. * Cat says:

    wow, that is an awesome Idea! I am having to start over this year. I did save a box of ornaments, but they are still in Louisiana. I try to get a meaningful ornament each year, for each of the boys. I may use the picture idea to start this year out right. Hmmmm

    Take care!

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 12 months ago
  6. * Karen says:

    What a fab idea! My tree isn’t up yet, I’m working on it.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 12 months ago
  7. * Chickadee says:

    Your tree is beautiful and I think placing photos on the tree is a great idea.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 12 months ago
  8. * Spikey1 says:

    A great idea!

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 12 months ago
  9. * Mama Duck says:

    That tree is just beautiful and what a way to capture the spirit of the season!

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 12 months ago
  10. * Kelly says:

    Awesome idea and beautiful tree! I have photos ornaments on our tree as well, but not as many!

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 12 months ago
  11. * Anonymous Shannon says:

    Wow! I really like the new Christmas tradition you’ve created for your family! That’s really cool.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 12 months ago
  12. * warcrygirl says:

    What a lovely idea! I’m so going to start doing that. I have the ornaments that Jr made all the way back to preschool (he’s only in 1st grade now but it seems so long ago).

    Did you make the frames or did you buy them somewhere? Just beautiful.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 12 months ago
  13. * Carrie says:

    That is such a great idea! That really makes the tree special!!!!

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 12 months ago
  14. * Holly says:

    absolutely gorgeous tree and decorations!

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 12 months ago


Leave a Reply

