Celebrating Women for the Real World



Christmas Decorating…Hazardous To Your Health

After getting over the initial shock of all the Christmas decorations we have acquired through the years, I started unloading them. I started emptying out the boxes constantly saying “I’m missing stuff!” The only one thing that I could pinpoint missing was the garland I use on the mantle.

By the time I went through all the boxes, it looked like the Christmas bomb had exploded in my living room. We finally realized that we were missing a box, so G2 went up to the attic and sure enough came back down with the final box (sigh).

After getting all the villages set up, I started putting the up the Christmas tree. The first problem was that I couldn’t find the stand, so smart me goes and gets the stand from the old tree (now, why we still have it I have no idea). Of course it doesn’t fit, and I’m trying to come up with clever ways to make the old stand work (hmmmmm, I could cut off a broom handle, shove it up the pole of the tree, put it in the stand and screw the stand to some plywood). STOP! Big-G told me to just stop and retrace my steps. He was right (damnit), went right to it in the closet.

With that crisis handled, I stared putting the darn thing together. Insert stem C then B, and I am connecting the cords as I go (pre-lit tree); I’m reaching through the branches, grabbing the cord from C and trying to find the cord from B and then “POLK”, a damn branch polks me in the eye. Not a little “ouch…I’ve got something in my eye” but a full fledge “POLK, I about polked my $@#*&^! eye out! Of course Big-G’s wit and charm come out in moments like these and stated “shall I get you some safety glasses for decorating?”

((grumble))

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Teri says:

    In my house, I’m not the one in need of the “safety” attire…it’s all else who dare to enter. You have my empathy…and in one week’s time, I hope to have yours, my husband’s, my boys, etc. “tis the season.”

    Ciao for now…and remember Happy Women Unite!

    Teri
    http://www.herestohappywomen.blogspot.com

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 7 months ago
  2. * aka_Meritt - www.coffeetalking.blogspot.com says:

    We are SUCH seasonal-sisters.

    Yes I did the “I know I’m missing things” thing as well. Only I had asked my husband to get them for me. He didn’t. 🙂

    He DID get “ALL” the boxes and move them about 5 feet away to the middle of the basement room. I asked him to bring them up, as I would have to the next day while he was at work and I would rather use HIS muscles (they are large moving boxes – full). You know he DIDNT.

    So Coffeekid and I brought them up. Dh SWORE he found them all. I sent CK down to check and HE swore “Yep – that’s it”. Sure enough ‘I KNOW I’m missing that little red sleigh….”

    and found 4 more boxes!!!!!!!!

    (and you know about my tree falling). What I didn’t talk about was the lights that didn’t work, the lights that worked for 2 hours and then STOPPED for no reason and the whole thing had to be replaced, yadayada. Joy of the Season!

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 7 months ago
  3. * Greg - Cowboy in the Jungle says:

    At our house Dad would always get teh Reel to reel tape deck (yes we had one of those…) and play his christmas compilation tapes. It was a great time and we all got to dress the tree and house with decorations.

    When you mention “Family” this is one of the first things that I think of. The one day we all made plans to be together. It was the most Norman Rockwall of the things that we did.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 7 months ago
  4. * Sleeping Mommy says:

    I’m so not looking forward to putting our tree up. It’s probably going to be today. I’ll probably end up doing it by myself. As usual. Yuck.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 7 months ago
  5. * Suz says:

    Ouch on the eye! Hope its feelingetter today.

    Hubby did all the outside lights yesterday. The neighbor across the street said her 2 year old couldnt wait to see it lit up thats how many lights he put up.

    I did the tree myself (with help of 4 year old driving me nuts). I had so many containers that I think the amount of Christmas stuff just accumalates each year.

    Hugs Suz

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 7 months ago
  6. * Chickadee says:

    LMAO. Ohhhh boy. WHen I finish my blog reading here I’m going to go pull all of my Christmas decorations out. I don’t mind decorating, but I hate the pulling the boxes out, putting the tree up and putting the lights on the tree. I hate putting all that crap away too. LOL.

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 7 months ago
  7. * Anonymous Shannon says:

    Oh my gosh!

    Christmas decorating is always a comedy of errors for us! But it’s fun and a family tradition!:)

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 7 months ago


Leave a Reply

