Celebrating Women for the Real World



Happy Thanksgiving!

TWAS THE NIGHT OF THANKSGIVING, BUT I JUST COULDN’T SLEEP
I TRIED COUNTING BACKWARDS, I TRIED COUNTING SHEEP.

THE LEFTOVERS BECKONED – THE DARK MEAT AND WHITE
BUT I FOUGHT THE TEMPTATION WITH ALL OF MY MIGHT

TOSSING AND TURNING WITH ANTICIPATION
THE THOUGHT OF A SNACK BECAME INFATUATION.

SO, I RACED TO THE KITCHEN, FLUNG OPEN THE DOOR
AND GAZED AT THE FRIDGE, FULL OF GOODIES GALORE.

I GOBBLED UP TURKEY AND BUTTERED POTATOES,
PICKLES AND CARROTS, BEANS AND TOMATOES.

I FELT MYSELF SWELLING SO PLUMP AND SO ROUND,
‘TIL ALL OF A SUDDEN, I ROSE OFF THE GROUND’.

I CRASHED THROUGH THE CEILING, FLOATING INTO THE SKY
WITH A MOUTHFUL OF PUDDING AND A HANDFUL OF PIE.

BUT, I MANAGED TO YELL AS I SOARED PAST THE TREES….
HAPPY EATING TO ALL; PASS THE CRANBERRIES, PLEASE.


MAY YOUR STUFFING BE TASTY,
.
MAY YOUR TURKEY BE PLUMP.
.
MAY YOUR POTATOES ‘N GRAVY HAVE NARY A LUMP,
.
MAY YOUR YAMS BE DELICIOUS, MAY YOUR PIES TAKE THE PRIZE,
.
MAY YOUR THANKSGIVING DINNER STAY OFF OF YOUR THIGHS.
.
HAVE A WONDERFUL THANKSGIVING!
Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Suz says:

    ROFLMBO!!! Happy Thanksgiving Sheri&SuZan!

    Oh by the way you have been tagged!

    Hugs Suz

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 10 months ago
  2. * Karen says:

    Right back at you both. Full bellys and thankful hearts all around!

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 10 months ago
  3. * Spikey1 says:

    Nice. Happy Thanksgiving to you !

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 10 months ago
  4. * Henny says:

    well it’s about time other holidays got the attention they deserve.
    a happy and peaceful thanksgiving to you and yours

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 10 months ago
  5. * Carrie says:

    That’s hillarious. Happy Turkey!

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 10 months ago
  6. * Nancy says:

    Happy Thanksgiving Day to you all!

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 10 months ago
  7. * Teri says:

    Putting on Thanksgiving Dinner…expensive and stressful. Your post…priceless! Found you in the directory at BlogExplosion. I will return.

    I love your humor. Come see me at http://www.herestohappywomen.blogspot.com
    I would love to have your input on my articles. I post a new article each week….funny, sarcastic, irreverant.

    Ciao for now…and Happy Thanksgiving to you!

    Teri
    http://www.herestohappywomen.blogspot.com

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 10 months ago
  8. * aka_Meritt - www.coffeetalking.blogspot.com says:

    Amen. 🙂

    | Reply Posted 11 years, 10 months ago


Leave a Reply

