Celebrating Women for the Real World



Happy Veterans Day!

In Honor of Gerald
Gerald was my Father-in-law. A man that not only did I have the pleasure to meet, but who welcomed me with open arms into his family. He was strict but he was fair, he never showed much emotion but in his smile you found comfort and wisdom. He was a Marine, a member of the 5th Marine Division and you know what they say…Once a Marine…Always a Marine.

While most of us in our youth worry about trivial things, Gerald turned 19, and became a man on Iwo Jima. He never talked about those days too much until his later years. Some things he couldn’t talk about, some things I’m sure he wouldn’t talk about. I learned that he was MIA for a few hours when a shell left him unconscious.

I think God ever day for this man. Against the odds he survived and came home. I thank him for his son whom I love with all my heart. I see in my own son many traits of Gerald and am proud when I look at him and remember his Grandfather. I miss him terribly and wish he was with us today, but I am thankful that he was a part of my life, my family.

Semper Fi!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * aka_Meritt - www.coffeetalking.blogspot.com says:

    It’s wonderful to see all the Veterans photos today! 🙂

    (My Grandpa was also MIA – for a couple weeks actually. Scared everyone to death!). 😉

    | Reply Posted 12 years ago
  2. * Carrie says:

    Thanks for sharing. 🙂

    | Reply Posted 12 years ago
  3. * Karen says:

    Nice post. Hubby is a Vietnam vet. Happy Veteran’s Day to all!

    | Reply Posted 12 years ago
  4. * Spikey1 says:

    Thanks to them all for making us be here today. Never forget them.

    | Reply Posted 12 years ago
  5. * momsgoneloony says:

    What a great smile! Thank you for sharing that with us.

    “Some people spend an entire lifetime wondering if they’ve made a difference. The Marines don’t have that problem.
    —President Ronald Reagan 1985

    | Reply Posted 12 years ago
  6. * Anonymous says:

    Nice website and great validation for vets. Check this out as it pertains to Veterans Day and women (if you would like to see it):

    http://exploringconsciousness.blogspot.com

    Thanks

    | Reply Posted 12 years ago
  7. * Suz says:

    What a nice post, it sounds like he was a good man.

    Thanks For Sharing!

    Hugs Suz

    | Reply Posted 12 years ago
  8. * Liz says:

    Thank you, Gerald!

    | Reply Posted 12 years ago
  9. * Mama Duck says:

    What a great memory and a handsome young man.

    | Reply Posted 12 years ago
  10. * Iwvfoixe says:

    3IzqpM comment6 ,

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 6 months ago


Leave a Reply

